More bits please

February 2018 – When it comes to the future of broadband service, the industrial and export nation of Germany is at risk of being left behind. Especially outside of metropolitan centres, the network is slow. But innovative companies want to change that. They concentrate on high-tech, streamlined structures, private capital, and expect just one thing from the state: clear framework conditions. As one of the earliest pioneers, HSH Nordbank has greater familiarity with the specific financial conditions than virtually any other financial institution.

A mere 2.4 percent. That’s how high, or perhaps we should say low, the percentage of fibre-optic connections is here, according to the Association of Telecommunications and Value-Added Services (VATM e.V.). The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) quotes an even lower number of less than two percent (see graphic). A comparison: In Sweden, 55 percent of all private households surf with the fastest Internet speed. In Latvia, it is around 63 percent and in Japan nearly 75 percent.

Germany still lags behind when it comes to fast Internet surfing

Country ranking by percentage of households with fibre-optic network service

Germany still lags behind when it comes to fast Internet surfing. Country ranking by percentage of households with fibre-optic network service

Source: OECD, 2017

Germany is a far cry from having widespread coverage of the ultra fast fibre-optic network, which is capable of data transfer rates in the terabyte range. What's more, quick investments in this area are now more urgent than ever: According to forecasts by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure, the entire domestic IP data traffic will increase sixfold between 2015 and 2025, while mobile data traffic will increase by a factor of 18. You don’t have to be an engineer to know that this would be impossible if the existing capacity and data speeds remain unchanged.

Mobile future, sluggish present

Industry 4.0, 3D printing, telemedicine and electromobility are changing the face of the global economy. Mobile futur is more than using a smartphone.

The breakthroughs and market effects of Industry 4.0, 3D printing, telemedicine and electromobility are too radical. All of these megatrends are changing the face of the global economy and, while posing some risk, also present German’s globally situated middle class with far more opportunities. That is, if one basic requirement is met: Without fast networks, Germany’s companies, which often have to make due with data speeds of 50 MBit per second, won’t be able to benefit from the new technologies. Digital channels are the trade routes of the 21st century. High speed networks are as critical for today’s digital economy as electricity networks and railways were for industrial development.

“In Germany, there is a comparatively traditional understanding of how investments in infrastructure are to be carried out. Usually the projects remain in state hands or are guided through subsidies.”

Dr. Marcus Kleiner, Head of Origination Infrastructure & Logistics HSH Nordbank

The federal government is responsive and, given how crucial Germany’s digital infrastructure is to securing its future potential and ability to foster innovation, it wants to “continue to increase funding as necessary”. Currently, this means providing federal funds of nearly three billion euros per year starting in 2018. But improved coordination is at least as important as funding increases for regions with weak infrastructures. “The government often reacts in an uncoordinated manner to calls for help from mayors and county commissioners, who are concerned for the future of and employment opportunities in rural areas. The result is often subsidies granted in a scattergun fashion”, said Steffen Leiwesmeier, Head of Digital Infrastructure Financing at HSH Nordbank.

Energy

“The government often reacts in an uncoordinated manner to calls for help from mayors and county commissioners, who are concerned for the future of and employment opportunities in rural areas. The result is often subsidies granted in a scattergun fashion”, said Steffen Leiwesmeier, Head of Digital Infrastructure Financing at HSH Nordbank.

High speed networks are as critical for today’s digital economy as electricity networks and railways have been for industrial development.

What is more: “In Germany, there is a comparatively traditional understanding of how investments in infrastructure are to be carried out. Usually the projects remain in state hands or are guided through subsidies. Only rarely are private partners on board. However, it is especially through cooperations between public and private partners that additional — and also high-volume — projects could be realised, thereby increasing the overall amount of investment”, explains Dr. Marcus Kleiner, Head of Origination, Infrastructure, and Logistics for Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank. Since the mid-90s, his company has been engaged in financing infrastructural projects, from locomotives to train cars to data traffic. According to Steffen Leiswesmeier, HSH Nordbank was the first German bank ever to be engaged in the area of digital infrastructure – and it continues to do so today, with steadily increasing intensity. We receive offers for projects throughout Europe nearly every other day. The ‘pipeline’ is absolutely full with around one billion euros.

Connecting the Earth to the moon

Civil engineers and craftsmen have already laid around 375,000 kilometres of fibre-optic networks for Deutsche Glasfaser.

Deutsche Glasfaser, a German fibre-optics company based in Borken in Westphalia, has demonstrated how to successfully invest and conduct business in the broadband sector when the legal and framework conditions are clear — and without using a penny of state funding. Just five years after its founding, the company invested 200 million euros, with an additional 450 million euros to follow ‘in the near future’. The company develops, builds, and operates fibre-optic networks and has grown its base of contract customers to 200,000 throughout Germany. Civil engineers and craftsmen have already laid around 375,000 kilometres of fibre-optic networks. That is roughly the distance between the Earth and the moon.

“Our goal is to be Germany’s market leader in fibre-optic expansion”, says CFO Jens Müller. Deutsche Glasfaser began by serving primarily private customers. “In the future, we’d like to place more emphasis on corporate customers”, says Müller.

“Using our direct fibre-optic connections, a rural village can easily outperform the Internet service available in any major Germany city.”

Jens Müller, CFO Deut­sche Glasfaser

These dreams of growth require solid financing: Just recently, the company (which has 400 employees) increased the third-party funding limit with its bank partners, which includes HSH Nordbank, from 225 to 650 million euros. Since mid-2015, Deutsche Glasfaser has been represented by the global investor KKR, which owns a majority share. According to the company’s own figures, nearly 1.5 billion euros of capital are available for current expansion plans, which are designed to service one million households and companies.

A critical factor in the company’s success was their focus on rural areas. “Using our direct fibre-optic connections, a rural village can easily outperform the Internet service available in any major Germany city”, said CFO Müller. In a survey of more than 1,400 companies conducted by the Association of Local Utilities (VKU: Verband kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.) in January of this year, local representatives expressed the hope that improvements to digital infrastructures could help stem Germany’s increasingly apparent rural exodus.

The faster the network in the rural regions, especially in the affluent suburbs of big cities, the more people that will move away from the high rents and property prices in the city centres. But no freelancers or digital workers will be tempted to move out of the city if the network in the village is sluggish. According to the VKU survey, the download speed in many communities is still significantly lower than 50 megabits per second. For nearly 65 percent of the companies surveyed, broadband expansion was clearly the biggest challenge facing their business.

Exciting new asset class

At 100 Mbit per second, the fibre-optic networks are far from their potential maximum performance. One of their chief benefits is scalability: there is virtually no technical limitation on their potential speed and number of connections. It is possible to increase capacity at any time. “This feature is one of the most important factors for the success of a long-term infrastructure for the country’s digitalisation. And it’s also what makes the asset class so interesting for institutional investors such as banks, insurance companies, and pension funds”, says HSH Nordbank expert Leiwesmeier. Jens Müller from Deutsche Glasfaser is certain: “The potential for fibre-optic networks is very high. There will definitely not be a lack of demand for the expansion”.

“For the success of a long-term infrastructure for the country’s digitalisation the increase of capacity is one of the most important factors. And it’s also what makes the asset class so interesting for institutional investors.”

Steffen Leiwesmeier, Head of Digital Infrastructure Financing at HSH Nordbank

Bitte mehr Bits

Beim Breitbandausbau droht die Industrie- und Export­na­tion Deutsch­land den An­schluss zu ver­lieren. Be­sonders fernab der Ballungs­räume lahmt das Netz. Findige Unter­neh­men wollen das ändern. Sie setzen auf High­tech, schlanke Struk­turen, pri­vates Kapital und er­war­ten vom Staat nur eines: klare Rah­men­be­dingungen. Als Pionier der ersten Stunde kennt sich die HSH Nord­bank mit den spe­zi­fischen Fi­nan­zie­rungs­be­dingungen aus wie kaum ein anderes Geldin­stitut.

Magere 2,4 Prozent. So hoch oder besser niedrig ist hierzulande die Glas­faser­an­schluss­quote, hat der Ver­band der An­bieter von Tele­kom­mu­ni­ka­tions- und Mehr­wert­diensten e.V. (VATM) errechnet. Die Orga­ni­sa­tion für wirt­schaft­liche Zu­sam­men­arbeit und Ent­wicklung, OECD, kommt gar nur auf einen Wert von we­niger als zwei Pro­zent. Zum Ver­gleich: In Schwe­den surfen längst 55 Pro­zent aller pri­vaten Haus­hal­te auf der schnellsten In­ter­net­welle, in Lett­land sind es rund 63 Pro­zent und in Japan gar fast 75 Prozent.

Deutschland beim schnellen Surfen noch abgeschlagen

Länderranking nach Durchdringung der Haushalte mit Glasfaseranschluss in Prozent

Deutschland beim schnellen Surfen noch abgeschlagen. Länderranking nach Durchdringung der Haushalte mit Glasfaseranschluss in Prozent.

Quelle: OECD, 2017

Vom flächendeckenden Einsatz der ultra­schnellen Glas­faser, die Über­tra­gungs­ra­ten bis in den Terra­bit-Be­reich ermöglicht, ist Deutsch­land also noch weit ent­fernt. Da­bei sind zü­gi­ge In­ves­ti­tio­nen drin­gen­der denn je: Nach Prognosen des Bundes­ministeriums für Ver­kehr und digitale Infra­struktur wird sich der gesamte IP-Da­ten­ver­kehr hierzulande zwischen 2015 und 2025 ver­sechs­fachen, der mobile Da­ten­verkehr sogar um den Faktor 18 erhöhen. Man muss kein Ingenieur sein, um zu erkennen, dass das mit den vor­han­denen Kapa­zitäten und Daten­ge­schwindig­keiten nicht klappen kann.

Mobile Zukunft, lahme Gegenwart

Mobile Zukunft ist mehr als Smart­phone­nutzung
Industrie 4.0, 3-D-Druck, Telemedizin und Elektro­mo­bilität verändern das Gesicht der Welt­wirt­schaft. Mobile Zukunft bezeichnet weit mehr als Smart­phone­nutzung.

Zu radikal sind die Umbrüche und Markt­ver­schiebungen durch Industrie 4.0, 3-D-Druck, Telemedizin oder Elektro­mobilität. All diese Megatrends verändern das Gesicht der Welt­wirt­schaft und bieten besonders dem global aufgestellten deut­schen Mittel­stand neben manchem Risiko noch viel mehr Chancen. Wenn die Grund­voraus­setzung dafür erfüllt ist: Ohne schnelle Netze kommen Deutsch­lands Unter­nehmen, die sich allzu oft noch mit Über­tragungs­raten von 50 Mbit pro Sekunde begnügen müssen, nicht in den Genuss der neuen Technologien. Die digitalen Kanäle sind die Handels­wege des 21. Jahr­hunderts. Hoch­ge­schwindig­keits­netze sind für die digitale Wirt­schaft heute so entscheidend, wie es einst die Elektrizitäts­netze und die Eisen­bahnen für die industrielle Entwicklung waren.

„Es gibt in Deutschland ein vergleichsweise traditionelles Verständnis davon, wie Investitionen in die Infrastruktur realisiert werden sollen. Meist bleiben die Projekte in staatlicher Hand oder sollen über Subventionen gelenkt werden.“

Dr. Marcus Kleiner, Head of Origination Infrastruktur & Logistik bei der HSH Nordbank

Der Bund reagiert und will an­ge­sichts der Be­deutung der digitalen Infra­struk­tur für die Zukunfts- und Inno­va­tions­fähigkeit Deutsch­lands die Förder­mittel „be­darfs­ge­recht wei­ter er­hö­hen“. Nach ak­tu­el­lem Stand be­deu­tet dies die Be­reit­stel­lung von Bun­des­förder­mit­teln in Höhe von rund drei Mil­liar­den Euro pro Jahr ab 2018. Doch mindestens genauso wichtig wie mehr För­der­mittel für struk­tur­schwa­che Re­gio­nen ist eine ver­besser­te Ko­or­di­na­tion. „Der Staat reagiert oft un­ko­or­di­niert auf Hilferufe von Bürger­meistern und Land­räten, die sich um die Zukunft des länd­lichen Raums und die Arbeits­plätze vor Ort sorgen. Resultat sind dann oft Zu­schüs­se nach dem Gieß­kannen­prinzip“, sagt Steffen Leiwesmeier, Leiter di­gi­ta­le In­fra­struktur­fi­nan­zie­rungen bei der HSH Nord­bank. Er ist einer der Au­to­ren der Stu­die „Glas­faser: Aus­bau und Fi­nan­zie­rung“ der HSH Nord­bank.

Beim Breitbandausbau: Sorgenvoller Blick auf die Zukunft des ländlichen Raums und die Arbeitsplätze vor Ort. Resultat sind dann oft Zuschüsse nach dem Gießkannenprinzip.

„Der Staat reagiert oft un­ko­ordi­niert auf Hilferufe von Bürger­meistern und Land­räten, die sich um die Zukunft des länd­lichen Raums und die Arbeits­plätze vor Ort sorgen. Resultat sind dann oft Zuschüsse nach dem Gieß­kannen­prinzip“, sagt Steffen Leiwes­meier, Lei­ter digitale Infra­struktur­fi­nan­zie­rungen bei der HSH Nordbank.

Schaltkasten Breitband
Hoch­ge­schwindig­keits­netze sind für die digitale Wirt­schaft heute so entscheidend, wie es die Elek­tri­zi­täts­netze vor einem Jahrhundert für die industrielle Entwicklung waren.

Hinzu kommt: „Es gibt in Deutschland ein ver­gleichs­weise tradi­tionelles Ver­ständ­nis davon, wie In­ves­ti­tionen in die Infra­struktur realisiert werden sollen. Meist bleiben die Projekte in staatlicher Hand oder sollen über Subventionen gelenkt werden. Nur in Aus­nahme­fällen sind private Partner mit an Bord. Dabei könnten gerade durch das Zusammen­spiel von staat­lichen und pri­vaten Part­nern zu­sätz­liche und auch groß­volumige Projekte umgesetzt werden und es könnte so die Investitions­tätig­keit ins­ge­samt ge­steigert werden“, erklärt Dr. Marcus Klei­ner, Head of Ori­gi­nation im Bereich Unter­neh­mens­kunden Infra­struk­tur & Logistik der HSH Nord­bank. Sein Haus engagiert sich be­reits seit Mit­te der Neun­ziger­jahre bei Infra­struktur­fi­nan­zie­rungen – von Loko­mo­tiven über Waggons bis hin zum Daten­ver­kehr – und tut es bis heute im immer stärkeren Aus­maß. Fast jeden zweiten Tag werden uns neue Projekte in ganz Europa angeboten; die „Pipeline“ ist mit rund einer Milliarde Euro prall gefüllt.

Erde und Mond verbunden

Bau­ingenieure und Hand­werker haben für die Deutsche Glasfaser schon rund 375.000 Kilo­meter an Glas­faser­netzen verlegt.

Wie gut es sich bei klaren Rechts- und Rah­men­be­dingungen auch ohne jeden Cent an Förder­geld im Bereich Breitband investieren und wirtschaften lässt, beweist das Unter­neh­men Deut­sche Glas­faser mit Sitz im west­fäli­schen Borken. 200 Millionen Euro hat die Firma nur fünf Jahre nach ihrer Gründung bereits investiert, weitere 450 Millionen Euro an Investitionen werden „zeitnah“ erfolgen. Das Unternehmen entwickelt, baut und betreibt Glasfasernetze. 200.000 Vertrags­kunden haben die Borkener deutschlandweit inzwischen. Und die Bauingenieure und Handwerker haben für das Unternehmen schon rund 375.000 Kilo­meter an Glasfasernetzen verlegt. Das ent­spricht in etwa der Dis­tanz zwischen Erde und Mond.

„Unser Ziel ist es, Marktführer beim Glas­faser­ausbau in Deutsch­land zu werden“, sagt CFO Jens Müller selbst­be­wusst. Gestartet ist die Deut­sche Glas­faser vor allem mit dem Privat­kun­den­ge­schäft. „In Zukunft wollen wir ein be­son­deres Augen­merk auf die Ge­schäfts­kun­den­ge­biete legen“, sagt Müller.

„Mithilfe unserer Glasfaserdirektanschlüsse überholt das Dorf auch beim Internet mühelos jede deutsche Millionenstadt.“

Jens Müller, CFO Deut­sche Glasfaser

Solche Wachstums­phantasien wollen solide fi­nan­ziert sein: Erst vor Kur­zem er­höhte das 400-Mit­ar­beiter-Un­ter­neh­men bei seinen Bank­part­nern, zu denen auch die HSH Nord­bank gehört, den Fremd­fi­nan­zie­rungs­rahmen von 225 auf 650 Millionen Euro. Seit Mitte 2015 agiert die Deut­sche Glas­faser unter mehr­heit­licher Be­teiligung des inter­national engagierten Investors KKR. Rund 1,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital stehen nach Unter­neh­mens­an­ga­ben allein für die aktuelle Aus­bau­planung mit der Ver­sorgung von einer Million Haus­halten und Unter­nehmen bereit.

We­sent­licher Grund des Unter­neh­mens­er­folgs ist die Fokussierung auf den länd­lichen Raum. „Mithilfe unserer Glas­faser­direkt­anschlüsse überholt das Dorf auch beim Inter­net mühe­los jede deut­sche Millionen­stadt“, sagt CFO Müller. In einer Um­frage des Verbands Kom­mu­naler Unter­nehmen e.V. (VKU) im Januar dieses Jahres unter mehr als 1.400 Unter­nehmen äußerten die lokalen Ver­treter sogar die Hoffnung, dass eine ver­besserte di­gi­tale Infra­struktur die zu­neh­mend zu be­ob­achtende Land­flucht in Deutsch­land aufhalten könnte.

Je schneller das Netz in den länd­lichen Re­gionen und vor allem den Speck­gürteln der großen Städte wird, desto mehr Men­schen werden dorthin aus den Innen­städten mit ihren hohen Mieten und Grund­stücks­prei­sen hin­ziehen. Doch keinen Frei­berufler oder Digital­arbeiter lockt es aus der Stadt, wenn das Netz im Dorf lahmt. In vielen Ge­mein­den liegt die Down­load-Ge­schwindig­keit laut der VKU-Um­frage noch immer deutlich unter 50 Mega­bit pro Se­kun­de. Für knapp 65 Pro­zent der befragten Firmen stellt der Breit­band­ausbau derzeit ganz eindeutig die größte Herausforderung in ihrem Geschäftsgebiet dar.

Spannende neue Assetklasse

Bei 100 Mbit pro Sekunde ist bei den Glas­faser­netzen längst noch nicht Schluss. Ihr großes Plus ist die Ska­lier­bar­keit, nach oben gibt es fast keine tech­nische Gren­ze der Ge­schwin­dig­keit und der Anschluss­zahlen. Ka­pa­zi­täts­erhöhungen sind damit jederzeit möglich. „Genau das ist ein wesentlicher Erfolgs­faktor für eine lang­fristig nutz­bare In­fra­struk­tur bei der Di­gi­ta­li­sierung des Landes. Und das macht die Asset­klasse auch für insti­tu­tio­nelle In­vestoren wie Banken, Ver­si­che­rungen oder Pen­sions­fonds so interessant“, meint HSH Nord­bank-Experte Lei­wes­meier. Jens Müller von Deut­sche Glas­faser ist sicher: „Das Potenzial der Glas­faser ist sehr hoch. An der Nach­frage wird der Aus­bau garantiert nicht scheitern.“

„Für eine langfristig nutzbare Infrastruktur bei der Di­gi­ta­li­sie­rung des Lan­des sind Ka­pa­zi­täts­er­hö­hungen ein we­sent­licher Er­folgs­fak­tor. Und das macht die Asset­klasse auch für in­sti­tu­tio­nelle In­ves­toren so interessant.“

Steffen Leiwesmeier, Leiter digitale Infrastrukturfinanzierungen bei der HSH Nord­bank

Branchenstudie „Glasfaser: Ausbau und Finanzierung“

Die Studie „Glasfaser: Ausbau und Finanzierung“ der HSH Nord­bank zeigt die Unverzicht­barkeit von Glas­faser für neue Technologien, den gegenwärtigen Stand und die Chan­cen der Zukunfts­infra­struktur für die Wirtschaft.
Senden Sie einfach eine E-Mail mit dem Betreff „Glas­faser­studie“ an steffen.leiwesmeier@hsh-nordbank.com und Sie erhalten die voll­ständige Studie.