It could be a bit more

October 2018 – While online commerce is booming in Germany, online food distribution is still in its infancy. This applies above all to fresh fruit, vegetables, fish and meat. But complacency would be dangerous for stationary retailers. Because the history of the Internet teaches us one thing: disruption starts very quietly but can happen very quickly.

Schoolchildren learn the significant difference between "relative" and "absolute" at a young age. In absolute terms, Germans spent around 1.67 trillion euros on consumer goods in 2017. Of this total, 272.3 billion euros or 3,301 euros per resident were spent on food. But online food sales only account for a meagre percentage of these enormous sums. In no other product group in Germany is online turnover lower. For a long time now, every third euro spent on sports and camping equipment is spent online, with a similarly high share for toys and clothing. According to current figures from the German trade association Handelsverband Deutschland (HDE), the average online share of all sectors is around ten percent.

Barely moving

Sales and online share of sales of non-food vs. food products in billions of euros/percent

Barely moving: Sales and online share of sales of non-food vs. food products in billions of euros/percent

Source: IFH, HDE Trade Report "Food Online," 2017

In a new joint study entitled "Lebensmittel-Einzelhandel. Frische macht den Unterschied – kann der Handel liefern?" ("Food retail: Freshness makes the difference – can retail deliver?") retail experts from EHI Retail Institute in Cologne and HSH Nordbank explore why the otherwise online-savvy Germans are reluctant when it comes to online food sales. Since its foundation, HSH Nordbank has focused on the food industry. "We support companies from almost all sub-segments of the food industry throughout Germany and experience first-hand the opportunities and risks of our customers' business models," says Tim Muhle, Head of Food Economics.

Freshness provides returns

For fresh products, stationary retail is still the perfect optimal form of distribution – but this is only a snapshot.
For fresh products, stationary retail is still the perfect optimal form of distribution – but this is only a snapshot.

Online food sales in Germany are playing catch-up, especially when it comes to fresh foods such as fruit and vegetables, meat, fish and baked goods, as well as refrigerated items. It is precisely these products that play a decisive role. "They create special opportunities for a supermarket to set itself apart from the competition, whether by differentiating itself from discounters or from online food retailers," says Muhle. Above all, fresh products are also the most profitable. According to the study, the fresh food segment accounts for 38.7 percent of sales in all markets, but also accounts for 49 percent of gross profit. Apples, pears, fish and meat thus provide the most return at supermarket chains like Edeka, Rewe, Aldi, etc.

“I have several supermarkets and discounters within walking distance in my neighborhood. It would be hard to get fresher products, except maybe at a farmers market. There's no reason for me to buy fruit or vegetables online and then wait at home for the delivery.”

Christian Meyerholz, Junior Relationship Manager Food Industry at HSH Nordbank

Christian Meyerholz, Junior Relationship Manager and head of the Fruit and Vegetables sub-sector in HSH Nordbank's food industry team, knows from his own experience that freshness is crucial for shoppers. "I have several supermarkets and discounters within walking distance in my neighborhood. It would be hard to get fresher products, except maybe at a farmers market. There's no reason for me to buy fruit or vegetables online and then wait at home for the delivery." In other words: “Online commerce can deliver, but consumers don't want fresh products – in contrast to other goods purchased online – to be delivered."

The majority of German consumers today agree with Meyerholz. For fresh products, stationary retailing is still the optimal form of distribution. But as a retail expert, Meyerholz is thinking ahead: "This is just a snapshot of the situation today. It's possible that in the near future there will be coherent business models that will significantly shift the food market towards digitization."

France and Great Britain are leading the way

In Great Britain and France, the proportion of food ordered online is already three to four times higher than in Germany.

A look at other European countries can provide insight into how the German market could develop over the long term. In Great Britain and France, the proportion of fresh food ordered online is already three to four times higher than in Germany. One reason is that consumers in France are significantly more willing to spend more of their money on good, fresh food. In addition, supermarket density there is much lower than in Germany, which in 2017 had almost 38,000 grocery stores of all sizes, and where two out of three citizens could reach at least one local supplier within just two kilometers driving or walking.

Expandable digital quota

Online share of FMCG1 sales in selected European countries 2017
1 Fast Moving Consumer Goods

Expandable digital quota: Online share of FMCG(1) sales in selected European countries 2017

Source: Kantar Worldpanel 2017

For a long time, FMCG (fast moving consumer goods), above all fresh produce, were considered generally unsuitable for web sales and distribution. Those days are over. According to a census by the Brandenburg Consumer Association, which makes no claim to comprehensiveness, almost 1,000 online shops are already active in the German market. Very few of them are full-range retailers like digital market leader Rewe, which are rooted in stationary retail and do not want to leave the field open for the new competitors, the online pure play retailers. As a rule, both pure play companies and multichannel providers primarily only supply large cities and metropolitan areas.

In view of the fierce competition on the German food retail market, the majority of these start-ups are likely to have a hard time in the long term. The pressure is too great, the margins are too low. But others will survive and remain on the market.

“With deals like the Whole Foods Market takeover, Amazon Fresh has linked the digital and analogue worlds”

Tim Muhle, Head of Food Industry at HSH Nordbank AG

Is Amazon a game changer?

Amazon Fresh, who are said to be increasingly interested in stationary food retail in Germany.

One name in particular gets mentioned constantly: Amazon Fresh, who are said to be increasingly interested in stationary food retail in Germany. The announced sale of Real by Metro has added new fuel to the fire of these speculations.

Amazon Fresh was launched in the Seattle area in 2007 and quickly expanded its online offering into other American cities and metropolitan regions such as Los Angeles, New York City and San Francisco. In Europe, Amazon Fresh is now active in Great Britain and Germany. The company caused a sensation in mid-2017 when it took over Whole Foods Market. Whole Foods primarily sells expensive organic products in its almost 500 stores in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. "With deals like this, Amazon Fresh has linked the digital and analogue worlds," says Tim Muhle. In this way, hybrid models such as "Click & Collect" and "Click & Drive-in" could become more popular. With "Click & Collect," buyers pick up goods ordered online during normal opening hours in a nearby store. With "Click & Drive-in," customers drive to a central warehouse to pick up their orders. These warehouses are usually open around the clock every day.

HSH Nordbank experts Muhle and Meyerholz also believe that such hybrids of stationary and digital retail have the greatest potential. In the short term, however, they do not expect any market disruption. "The e-food market in Germany is gaining momentum very slowly. Most German customers will likely continue to want to buy at stationary locations going into the future," says Muhle.

However, according to Muhle, this does not mean that that classic supermarket chains and discounters should be complacent. "It would be irresponsible not to keep a constant eye on market developments," warns the head of Nordbank's food industry team. The former head of the Rewe Group, Alain Caparros, made similar comments in an interview with "Wirtschaftswoche 2013": "No one knows exactly where or how fast the online train is going. All I know is we have to be on board." So: All aboard!

“The e-food market in Germany is gaining momentum very slowly. Most German customers will likely continue to want to buy at stationary locations going into the future – It would be irresponsible not to keep a constant eye on market developments.”

Tim Muhle, Head of Food Industry at HSH Nordbank AG

Industry study „food retail trade“

The industry study (available in German language) shows the risks and opportunities for food retailers in online and stationary retail. Are you interested in the study? Simply send an e-mail with the subject "Food retail - freshness makes the difference" to tim.muhle@hsh-nordbank.com .

Es darf ein bisschen mehr sein

Oktober 2018 – Während der Onlinehandel in Deutschland boomt, steckt der digitale Vertrieb von Lebensmitteln noch in den Kinderschuhen. Das gilt vor allem für frisches Obst, Gemüse, Fisch oder Fleisch. Doch selbstzufriedenes Zurücklehnen wäre für die stationären Einzelhändler gefährlich. Denn die Geschichte des Internets lehrt eines: Disruption erfolgt erst im Stillen, und dann kann es plötzlich ganz schnell gehen.

Den so entscheidenden Unterschied zwischen „relativ“ und „absolut“ lernen Schulkinder spätestens an der weiterführenden Schule. Absolut gesehen gaben die Deutschen 2017 rund 1,67 Billionen Euro für Konsumzwecke aus. Davon waren 272,3 Milliarden Euro beziehungsweise 3.301 Euro je Einwohner Ausgaben für Lebensmittel. Doch von diesen gewaltigen Summen bekam der Onlinehandel mit Lebensmitteln nur ein mageres Prozent ab. In keiner anderen Warengruppe in Deutschland ist der Onlineumsatz geringer. Bei Sport- und Campingartikeln wird längst jeder dritte Euro digital umgesetzt, ähnlich hoch ist die Onlinequote bei Spielwaren oder Bekleidung. Im Durchschnitt aller Branchen liegt der Onlineanteil nach aktuellen Zahlen des Handelsverbands Deutschland (HDE) bei immerhin rund zehn Prozent.

Kaum von der Stelle

Umsatz und Online-Umsatzanteil Nonfood vs. Food in Milliarden Euro/Prozent

Kaum von der Stelle: Umsatz und Online-Umsatzanteil Nonfood vs. Food in Milliarden Euro/Prozent

Quelle: IFH, HDE-Handelsreport „Lebensmittel Online“, 2017

Warum die ansonsten zunehmend digital affinen Deutschen gerade beim Einkauf von Lebensmitteln zögerlich sind, haben jetzt die Handelsexperten des EHI Retail Institute mit Sitz in Köln und der HSH Nordbank in ihrer gemeinsamen Studie namens „Lebensmittel-Einzelhandel. Frische macht den Unterschied – kann der Handel liefern?“ untersucht. Die Ernährungswirtschaft als Branche steht seit ihrer Gründung im Fokus der Bank. „Wir begleiten deutschlandweit Unternehmen aus fast allen Teilsegmenten der Lebensmittelbranche und beschäftigen uns dabei auch intensiv mit den Chancen und Risiken der Geschäftsmodelle unserer Kunden“, sagt Tim Muhle, Leiter Ernährungswirtschaft.

Frische sorgt für den Renditekick

Für Frischeprodukte ist der stationäre Handel noch immer die optimale Vertriebsform – doch das ist nur eine Momentaufnahme.
Für Frischeprodukte ist der stationäre Handel noch immer die optimale Vertriebsform – doch das ist nur eine Momentaufnahme.

Vor allem beim Verkauf von frischen Lebensmitteln wie Obst und Gemüse, Fleisch, Fisch oder Backwaren sowie kühlpflichtigen Artikeln hinkt der Onlinevertrieb in Deutschland massiv hinterher. Dabei spielen gerade diese Produkte eine entscheidende Rolle. „Sie eröffnen einem Supermarkt besondere Möglichkeiten zur Differenzierung im Wettbewerb – sei es in der Abgrenzung zu Discountern oder auch zum Onlinelebensmittelhandel“, sagt Muhle. Vor allem sorgen Frischeprodukte auch für den meisten Gewinn. Das Frischesegment trägt laut der Studie 38,7 Prozent zum Umsatz aller Märkte bei, sorgt aber zugleich für 49 Prozent des Rohertrags. Damit sind Äpfel, Birnen, Fisch und Fleisch die wahren Ertragsperlen bei Edeka, Rewe, Aldi und Co.

„In meiner Nachbarschaft habe ich fussläufig gleich mehrere Supermärkte und Discounter. Frischer geht es kaum, allenfalls noch auf dem Wochenmarkt. Da gibt es wenig Anlass für mich, Obst oder Gemüse digital zu kaufen und dann daheim auf den Lieferanten warten zu müssen.“

Christian Meyerholz, Junior Relationship Manager Ernährungswirtschaft bei der HSH Nordbank

Christian Meyerholz, Junior Relationship Manager und zuständig für die Teilbranche Frucht und Gemüse im Team Ernährungswirtschaft der HSH Nordbank, weiß aus eigener Erfahrung, dass das Frischeerlebnis entscheidend ist beim Einkaufen. „In meiner Nachbarschaft habe ich fußläufig gleich mehrere Supermärkte und Discounter. Frischer geht es kaum, allenfalls noch auf dem Wochenmarkt. Da gibt es wenig Anlass für mich, Obst oder Gemüse digital zu kaufen und dann daheim auf den Lieferanten warten zu müssen.“ Anders formuliert: „Der Onlinehandel kann zwar liefern. Aber der Verbraucher will Frischeprodukte – im Gegensatz zu anderen, gerne online eingekauften Waren – bislang gar nicht geliefert bekommen.“

So wie Meyerholz denkt heute das Gros der deutschen Verbraucher. Für Frischeprodukte ist der stationäre Handel noch immer die optimale Vertriebsform. Doch Handelskenner Meyerholz denkt weiter: „Das ist nur eine Momentaufnahme. Möglicherweise gibt es in näherer Zukunft stimmige Geschäftsmodelle, die auch den Markt für Lebensmittel signifikant in Richtung Digitalisierung verschieben.“

Frankreich und Grossbritannien machen es vor

In Großbritannien und Frankreich ist der Anteil der online geordneten frischen Lebensmittel bereits drei- bis viermal so hoch wie hierzulande.

Auch der Blick ins europäische Ausland vermag Aufschlüsse darüber zu geben, wohin sich der deutsche Markt langfristig entwickeln könnte: In Großbritannien und Frankreich ist der Anteil der online geordneten frischen Lebensmittel bereits drei- bis viermal so hoch wie hierzulande. Was unter anderem auch daran liegt, dass gerade die Konsumenten in Frankreich wesentlich häufiger bereit sind, mehr Geld für gutes und frisches Essen auszugeben. Zudem ist die Supermarktdichte viel geringer als in Deutschland, wo es 2017 fast 38.000 Lebensmittelgeschäfte aller Größenordnungen gab und zwei von drei Bürgern innerhalb von nur zwei Kilometern Fahrt- oder Laufstrecke mindestens einen Nahversorger erreichten.

Ausbaufähige Digitalquote

Onlineanteil am FMCG1-Absatz in ausgewählten europäsichen Ländern 2017
1 Fast Moving Consumer Goods

Ausbaufähige Digitalquote: Onlineanteil am FMCG(1)-Absatz in ausgewählten europäsichen Ländern 2017

Quelle: Kantar Worldpanel 2017

Lange Zeit galten FMCG – die „Fast Moving Consumer Goods“ –, allen voran Frischwaren, als generell nicht für den Webverkauf und -vertrieb geeignet. Das ist längst passé. Nach einer Zählung der Verbraucherzentrale Brandenburg, die keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit erhebt, tummeln sich bereits fast 1.000 Onlineshops am deutschen Markt. Die wenigsten davon sind Vollsortimenter wie Digitalmarktführer Rewe, die im stationären Handel verwurzelt sind und den neuen Wettbewerbern – den Online-Pure-Play-Anbietern – nicht das Feld allein überlassen wollen. Ob Online-Pure-Player oder Multichannel-Anbieter: Die meisten beliefern in der Regel nur Großstädte und Ballungsräume.

Ein Großteil dieser Start-ups dürfte es angesichts des beinharten Wettbewerbs am deutschen Lebensmitteleinzelhandelsmarkt dauerhaft schwer haben. Zu groß ist der Druck, zu gering sind die Margen. Doch andere werden bestehen und am Markt bleiben.

„Mit solchen Deals, wie der Whole Foods Market Übernahme, verknüpft Amazon Fresh die digitale und die analoge Welt.“

Tim Muhle, Leiter Ernährungswirtschaft bei der HSH Nordbank

Gamechanger Amazon?

Amazon Fresh wird ein immer stärkeres Interesse am stationären deutschen Lebensmittelhandel nachgesagt.

Besonders ein Name macht dabei immer wieder die Runde: Amazon Fresh. Den Amerikanern wird auch ein immer stärkeres Interesse am stationären deutschen Lebensmittelhandel nachgesagt. Nach dem angekündigten Verkauf von Real durch die Metro erhalten solche Spekulationen neue Nahrung.

2007 startete der US-amerikanische Internetmulti im Großraum Seattle und expandierte schnell mit dem Onlineangebot Amazon Fresh in weitere amerikanische Großstädte und Metropolregionen wie Los Angeles, New York City und San Francisco. In Europa ist Amazon Fresh mittlerweile in Großbritannien und Deutschland aktiv. Aufsehen erregte die Übernahme der Handelskette Whole Foods Market Mitte 2017. Whole Foods Market verkauft vor allem hochpreisige Bioprodukte in fast 500 Filialen in den USA, Kanada und Großbritannien. „Mit solchen Deals verknüpft Amazon Fresh die digitale und die analoge Welt“, sagt Tim Muhle. Auf diese Weise könnten Hybridmodelle wie „Click & Collect“ und „Click & Drive-in“ populärer werden. Bei „Click & Collect“ holt der Käufer die online bestellten Warten zu den normalen Öffnungszeiten in einem Markt seiner Nähe ab. Bei „Click & Drive-in“ fährt der Kunde zu einem zentralen Abhollager. Meist sind diese jeden Tag rund um die Uhr geöffnet.

Solchen Hybridlösungen aus stationärem und digitalem Handel sprechen auch die HSH Nordbank-Experten Muhle und Meyerholz das größte Potenzial zu. Kurzfristig erwarten die beiden Experten aber keine Disruption am Markt. „Der E-Food-Markt in Deutschland kommt nur sehr langsam in Schwung. Und so wird die Masse der Kunden im deutschen Lebensmitteleinzelhandel absehbar auch künftig größtenteils stationär einkaufen wollen“, sagt Muhle.

Als Freibrief fürs beruhigte Zurücklehnen für die Entscheider bei klassischen Supermarktketten oder Discountern will er das aber bewusst nicht verstanden wissen. „Es wäre fahrlässig, die Marktentwicklung nicht permanent im Auge zu behalten“, warnt der Leiter Ernährungswirtschaft. Auch der frühere Chef der Rewe Group, Alain Caparros, äußerte sich in einem Interview mit der „Wirtschaftswoche“ 2013 ähnlich: „Wohin der Onlinezug fährt, weiß niemand genau, wie schnell er fährt auch nicht. Ich weiß nur, dass wir an Bord sein müssen.“ Also: Einsteigen, bitte!

„Der E-Food-Markt in Deutschland kommt nur sehr langsam in Schwung. Und so wird die Masse der Kunden im deutschen Lebensmitteleinzelhandel absehbar auch künftig grössten­teils stationär einkaufen wollen – Es wäre fahrlässig, die Marktentwicklung nicht permanent im Auge zu behalten.“

Tim Muhle, Leiter Ernährungswirtschaft bei der HSH Nord­bank

Branchenstudie „Lebensmitteleinzelhandel“

Die Branchenstudie der HSH Nordbank widmet sich der Dynamik des Onlinehandels für die Lebensmittelbranche und zeigt auf, welche Risiken aber auch Chancen Lebensmittelhändler sowohl im Online- als auch im stationären Handel haben. Sie haben Interesse an der Studie? Senden Sie einfach eine E-Mail mit dem Betreff „LEH-Studie“ an tim.muhle@hsh-nordbank.com und Sie erhalten die vollständige Studie.