Beyond the borders

February 2018 – For coal, gas and oil, the once-ridiculed alternative energy suppliers of electricity and wind have become serious challengers. But with the establishment of renewables in Germany, their growth momentum is also beginning to weaken. In the future, the greatest economic opportunities are to be found outside of the German domestic market.

Norrbotten in Sweden is not a place for the faint-hearted. Despite being located on the Baltic coast, the northern Swedish province has a harsh continental climate. The temperature differences between summer, with a mean July temperature of 15 degrees Celsius and winter, with up to minus 14 degrees Celsius on average, are large. Accordingly, the wind blows year in, year out – an ideal location for a new wind turbine. Norrbotten’s new ‘North Pole’ onshore wind farm isn’t going to be just another wind energy supplier, but Europe's largest connected wind farm. Construction began in the summer of 2017. The ‘North Pole’ is expected to reach its full power output of 650 megawatts in 2019. The park will ultimately comprise 179 powerful wind turbines, which will generate a planned 2.1 terawatt hours of electricity per year. That's enough to supply more than 500,000 households with green electricity for a year.

Energy

Strong partners, minimized risks

The project is sponsored by General Electric (GE) and the Macquarie Group. But the money for the mega-project mainly comes from project funding in the amount of half a billion euros. It’s a huge ecological and economic project, which is however protected against all conceivable political and economic risks by Euler Hermes.

HSH Nordbank is a member of the banking consortium, supported by Nord LB, KfW IPEX and the European Investment Bank. The financial institution ranks among the top five European financiers of renewable energy projects, both in volume and in transactions. HSH Nordbank currently has over 240 projects in the energy and utilities segment as well as existing loans totalling billions of euros on its books. Corporate loans are included in this amount. With more than 50 transactions, HSH Nordbank financed more renewable business than ever before last year – including the funding of around 40 projects and corporate financing for ten manufacturers, project developers, public utility companies and suppliers.

Market readiness and more market economy

As foreign countries are increasingly playing to the tune of renewable energy, Lars Quandel, Head of Energy & Infrastructure at HSH Nord­bank, is setting his sights beyond Germany's borders. This is hardly surprising, as the domestic energy transition has long since prevailed, despite all prophecies of doom. Around one third of German electricity comes from renewable sources such as solar or wind power. At the same time, the establishment of renewables in the country slowed their growth dynamics – a typical and completely natural phenomenon in any mature market. The conditions have also fundamentally changed: the time of feed-in tariffs, fixed for decades, is coming to an end. Alternative energy suppliers and project developers now have to face bidding competition when tendering, which puts pressure on prices and margins. This does not signal the end of the green power trend, however, as Quandel explains: “The sharp decline in auctions for new wind energy projects and an increasing number of implemented projects without legal support show that the industry is becoming more efficient and already fully competitive at good locations.”

Shares of renewable energies in the electricity, heat and transport sectors in Germany

Development of the shares of renewable energies 2012-2016

Shares of renewable energies in the electricity, heat and transport sectors in Germany


Sources: Umweltbundesamt (Federal Environmental Agency)/AGEE Stat

... but on home turf, the momentum is fading, ...

Development of installed wind power in Germany (onshore and offshore) since 1998

Development of installed wind power in Germany (onshore and offshore) since 1998


Source: Fraunhofer IEE

However, the speed of expansion in this country is unquestionably slowing. This is also down to the fact that the windiest onshore sites for energy windmills on coasts and mountain tops have long been developed. Outside Germany, the picture looks quite different; many countries are only beginning to follow the energy transition example set by the Federal Republic. China and the USA, for example, score significantly higher growth rates for new wind turbines compared to Europe. More than 40 percent of the wind power installed worldwide already comes from Asia; the tendency is that this will continue to rise.

“German expertise is in high demand abroad.”

Lars Quandel, Head of Energy & Infrastructure at HSH Nordbank

Go West

But there is still a lot happening in Europe as well. The mega-wind farm in Norrbotten, Sweden is a prime example of this. HSH Nordbank hopes that the ‘North Pole’ project in particular will function as a kind of door opener for further financing in the Scandinavian region. Ireland is also one of the bank's major foreign growth markets in the energy & utilities sector. There are also the newly developed markets of Portugal and the Netherlands; HSH Nordbank completed transactions there for the first time in 2017 and provided loans for the refinancing and financing of solar parks. The financial institution also plans to implement renewable pioneering projects in Canada and the US this year. The ongoing coverage of Donald Trump's policies and the supposed renaissance of fossil fuels in the US are currently somewhat obscuring the major market opportunities offered to German energy companies in North America. Even in the USA, too, there is no escaping sun, wind and the rest as clean energy suppliers in the long term.

... while energy transition is becoming an export hit

Worldwide installed nominal output of wind turbines in megawatt in 2016 by region

Worldwide installed nominal output of wind turbines in megawatt in 2016 by region

Source: Fraunhofer IEE/Global Wind Energy Council 2016

“German expertise is in high demand abroad,” notes Quandel again and again during his many travels and encounters. He went on to say, “Assisting German customers abroad is the key to further growth for us.” Experience, confidence and the right weatherproof clothing help against the sometimes rough market winds in Norrbotten and other such places.

“Assisting German customers abroad is the key to further growth for us.”

Lars Quandel, Head of Energy & Infrastructure at HSH Nordbank

Jenseits der Grenzen

Februar 2018 – Aus den einst belächelten alternativen Energielieferanten Strom und Wind sind ernsthafte Herausforderer für Kohle, Gas und Öl geworden. Doch mit der Etablierung der Erneuerbaren im Inland schwächt sich auch deren Wachstumsdynamik ab. Die größten wirtschaftlichen Chancen tun sich künftig außerhalb des deutschen Heimatmarkts auf.

Norrbotten in Schweden ist kein Ort für Zartbesaitete. Trotz ihrer Lage an der Ostseeküste verfügt die nordschwedische Provinz über ein raues kontinentales Klima. Die Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Sommer – mit einer mittleren Juli-Temperatur von 15 Grad Celsius – und Winter mit bis zu minus 14 Grad Celsius im Schnitt, sind groß. Entsprechend stark bläst der Wind jahrein, jahraus – für den Standort einer neuen Windkraftanlage der ideale Ort. Mit dem neuen Onshore-Windpark „North Pole“ entsteht in Norrbotten nicht irgendein weiterer Windenergielieferant, sondern Europas größter zusammenhängender Windpark. Im Sommer 2017 begannen die Bauarbeiten. Seine volle Leistungskraft mit 650 Megawatt wird „North Pole“ voraussichtlich 2019 erreichen. 179 leistungsstarke Windräder umfasst der Park am Ende. Geplant ist letztlich eine Stromproduktion von jährlich 2,1 Terrawattstunden. Diese Menge genügt, um weit mehr als 500.000 Haushalte für ein Jahr mit grünem Strom zu versorgen.

Energy

Starke Partner, minimierte Risiken

Die Projektsponsoren in Norbotten sind General Electric (GE) und die Macquarie Gruppe. Doch das Geld für das Megaprojekt stammt überwiegend aus einer Projektfinanzierung im Volumen von einer halben Milliarde Euro. Es ist ein gewaltiges ökologisches wie ökonomisches Vorhaben, das dank Euler Hermes aber gegen alle denkbaren politischen und wirtschaftlichen Risiken abgesichert ist.

Die HSH Nordbank gehört dem Bankenkonsortium an, unterstützt durch die Nord LB, die KfW IPEX sowie die Europäische Investitionsbank. Das Finanzinstitut rangiert sowohl nach Volumen als auch nach Transaktionen unter den Top Fünf der europäischen Finanzierer von Projekten rund um erneuerbare Energien. Aktuell hat die HSH Nordbank gut 240 Projekte im Segment Energie und Versorger sowie Bestandskredite von rund 5 Milliarden Euro in ihren Büchern. In dieser Summe sind Firmenkundenkredite eingeschlossen. Im vergangenen Jahr finanzierte die HSH Nordbank mit knapp 50 Transaktionen so viele erneuerbare Geschäfte wie noch nie – darunter waren rund 40 Projektfinanzierungen und zehn Unternehmensfinanzierungen für Hersteller, Projektentwickler, Stadtwerke oder Versorger.

Marktreife und mehr Marktwirtschaft

Der Blick von Lars Quandel, Leiter des Be­reichs Energie & Infrastruktur bei der HSH Nord­bank, geht dabei zunehmend über die deutschen Landesgrenzen hinaus: Denn die Musik in Sachen Erneuerbare Energien spielt zunehmend im Ausland. Kein Wunder: Die heimische Energiewende hat sich – allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz – längst durchgesetzt. Rund ein Drittel des nationalen Stroms entstammt bereits erneuerbaren Quellen wie Sonnen- oder Windkraft. Mit der Etablierung der Erneuerbaren in Deutschland verlangsamt sich zugleich deren Wachstumsdynamik – ein typisches und völlig natürliches Phänomen in jedem reifer werdenden Markt. Dazu kommen grundlegend veränderte Rahmenbedingungen: Die Zeit der jahrzehntelang fix garantieren Einspeisevergütungen geht zu Ende. Alternative Energielieferanten und Projektierer müssen sich jetzt in Ausschreibungen einem Bieterwettbewerb stellen. Das drückt auf die Preise und Margen. Ein Ende des Trends zum grünen Strom bedeutet das aber nicht, stellt Quandel klar: „Die stark gesunkene Vergütung in den Auktionen für neue Windenergieprojekte sowie eine steigende Anzahl umgesetzter Projekte ohne gesetzliche Förderung zeigen, dass die Branche effizienter wird und an guten Standorten bereits voll wettbewerbsfähig ist.“

Anteile der erneuerbaren Energien am Verbrauch in den Sektoren Strom, Wärme und Verkehr in Deutschland

Entwicklung der Anteile der Erneuerbaren Energien 2012-2016

Anteile der erneuerbaren Energien am Verbrauch in den Sektoren Strom, Wärme und Verkehr in Deutschland


Quelle: Umweltbundesamt/AGEE-Stat

... doch im Inland lässt die Dynamik nach, ...

Entwicklung der installierten Windleistung in Deutschland (On- und Offshore) seit 1998

Entwicklung der installierten Windleistung in Deutschland (On- und Offshore) seit 1998


Quelle: Fraunhofer IEE

Ohne Frage aber verlangsamt sich das Ausbautempo hierzulande. Was auch daran liegt, dass die windreichsten Onshore-Standorte an den Küsten und auf Berggipfeln für Energie-Windmühlen längst erschlossen sind. Außerhalb Deutschlands sieht das noch ganz anders aus. Dort fangen viele Länder erst an, dem deutschen Energiewendebeispiel nachzueifern. Gerade China und die USA etwa punkten mit deutlich höheren Wachstumsraten bei neuen Windkraftanlagen im Vergleich zu Europa. Mehr als 40 Prozent der weltweit installierten Windleistung stammen heute bereits aus Asien; Tendenz weiter steigend.

„Das Know-how aus Deutschland ist im Ausland stark gefragt.“

Lars Quandel, Leiter des Bereichs Energie & Infrastruktur bei der HSH Nordbank

Go West

Doch auch Europa dreht nach wie vor ein großes Rad. Der Mega-Windpark im schwedischen Norrbotten ist dafür das Paradebeispiel. Gerade vom Projekt „North Pole“ erhofft sich die HSH Nordbank eine Art Türöffnerfunktion für weitere Finanzierungen im skandinavischen Raum. Auch Irland zählt zu den großen ausländischen Wachstumsmärkten der Bank im Bereich Energie & Versorger. Stark im Kommen sind zudem die neu entwickelten Märkte Portugal und die Niederlande – dort hat die HSH Nordbank 2017 erstmalig Transaktionen abgeschlossen und Kredite für die Refinanzierung und Finanzierung von Solarparks zur Verfügung gestellt. Außerdem will das Finanzinstitut in diesem Jahr erneuerbare Pionierprojekte in Kanada und den USA realisieren. Die laufende Berichterstattung über die Politik Donald Trumps – und die vermeintliche Renaissance der fossilen Energien in den USA – vernebeln derzeit etwas die großen Marktchancen, die sich speziell deutschen Energieunternehmen in Nordamerika bieten. Auch in den USA führt langfristig kein Weg an Sonne, Wind und Co. als sauberen Energielieferanten vorbei.

... während die Energiewende zum Exportschlager wird

Weltweit installierte Nennleistung von Windkraftanlagen in Megawatt 2016 nach Regionen

Weltweit installierte Nennleistung von Windkraftanlagen in Megawatt 2016 nach Regionen


Quelle: Fraunhofer IEE/Global Wind Energy Council 2016

„Das Know-how aus Deutschland ist im Ausland stark gefragt“, stellt Quandel bei seinen vielen Reisen und Begegnungen immer wieder fest. Und ergänzt: „Die Begleitung deutscher Kunden ins Ausland ist für uns der Schlüssel zu weiterem Wachstum.“ Gegen die mitunter rauen Marktwinde in Norrbotten und Co. helfen Erfahrung, Zuversicht und die richtige wetterfeste Kleidung.

„Die Begleitung deutscher Kunden ins Ausland ist für uns der Schlüssel zu weiterem Wachstum.“

Lars Quandel, Leiter des Bereichs Energie & Infrastruktur bei der HSH Nordbank