Running around for charity

The HSH Nordbank Run and HafenCity Hamburg are a good fit. As the charity run has grown, so has this modern city district between downtown Hamburg and the River Elbe. The motivation behind this corporate run sponsored by the “bank for entrepreneurs” has changed since the event was first launched. What remains unchanged is the commitment to a good cause, together with their ongoing interest in exploring Hamburg’s HafenCity district while running with friends, colleagues and family.

One of the event's first partners was daily newspaper Hamburger Abendblatt, which does more than merely report on the run, here eg. 2006.

The HSH Nordbank Run through Hamburg’s HafenCity was organized before the new harbor district actually existed. Back in 2002, the first 930 runners came together on a tract of land around Grasbrook island and Kehrwieder point. With the slogan “Fire and Flame for Hamburg”, the run was intended to express support for the city’s application to host the 2012 Olympic Games. The area itself was still a desolate mixture of sand and wasteland. The cornerstone of the urban regeneration project had been laid just one year earlier. Planning work on the iconic Elbphilharmonie Concert Hall had only just started.
As is known Hamburg did not host the Games, the Elbphilharmonie venue is now open, and over the years the run has developed into an major event that, measured by the number of participants, easily compares to other big Hamburg events like the Cyclassics or the Marathon. One of the event’s first partners was daily newspaper Hamburger Abendblatt, which does more than merely report on the run. Funds raised from participants’ donations are channeled by Hamburger Abendblatt to various good causes under the umbrella of charity association “Kinder helfen Kindern” (Children help Children).

Now a summer fixture

HSH Nordbank Run 2017
The HSH Nordbank Run is now the largest charity run in northern Germany. This year, 831 teams took part, making a total of 24,218 runners.

For many Hamburg residents, the run has become a regular summer fixture – something you diarize with colleagues, friends and family members. This is clear from the enormous number of participants. “This year, 831 teams took part, making a total of 24,218 runners,” say the organizers. “Donations have stabilized at around 150,000 euros a year.” If you add this to funds raised in previous years, the sum total comes to around 1.6 million euros – an impressive amount that validates the organizers’ original idea. “The fact that so many people get involved shows that the basic concept – exploring HafenCity while running with friends – really works. There’s this great phrase: ‘Hamburg. Together.’ And the run is a great example of the well-developed sense of community in our city.”

The HSH Nordbank Run is now the largest charity run in northern Germany. Not only that, it is also the largest running event in Hamburg. This is reflected by start times on the day of the run. The first team sets off at 9.00 a.m.; the last team sets off 10 hours later, at 7.00 p.m. And in between, registered teams leave the start line every second or so.

Hamburg residents running for Hamburg kids

On the first HafenCity run in 2002 the cornerstone of the urban regeneration project had been laid just one year earlier. Planning work on the iconic Elbphilharmonic Concert Hall had only just started.

Alongside the run itself, the HafenCity venue has also grown. Officially established in 2008, over the last few years the former harbor area of Grosser Grasbrook, together with the islands of Kehrwieder and Wandrahm, has been transformed into a lively residential and business district. HSH Nordbank has deep roots in the region. “As sponsor and namesake of the HSH Nordbank Run, we’re especially delighted by the more than 24,000 runners who put on their running shoes every year so they can transform HafenCity into a running venue for a day,” says Stefan Ermisch, CEO of HSH Nordbank, who insists on firing the starting shot in person. The route runs past real-estate projects and HafenCity offices owned by a number of the bank’s customers.

The extent of HSH Nordbank’s social commitment is reflected by the number of employees who take part in the run. The bank fields one of the largest teams in the event, with more than 500 members. And the run has become a fixed tradition for many other Hamburg-based institutions. More than 800 teams take part in the run, demonstrating their commitment to good causes. They come from schools and kindergartens, local government offices, companies in the port and logistics sector, and longstanding city firms such as Beiersdorf and J.J. Darboven.

„As namesake of the HSH Nordbank Run, we’re especially delighted by the more than 24,000 runners who put on their running shoes every year so they can transform HafenCity into a running venue for a day.“

Stefan Ermisch, CEO of HSH Nordbank

Donations go where they are needed

Ten euros of each team’s starting fee and six euros of each individual runner’s starting fee go to the “Kids into Clubs” initiative. The initiative enables socially disadvantaged children and young people to join sports clubs, and also funds their sports equipment. “Hamburg residents love sports, and have big hearts!” smiles Stefan Ermisch. The proceeds from the event help support the sporting activities of around 9,000 children and young people every year. No administrative deductions are made – 100% of all donations end up where they are needed. This enabled also by Hamburger Abendblatt employees working as volunteers.

HSH Nordbank Run in figures

Logo HSH Nordbank Run

  • Launched in HafenCity Hamburg back in 2002
  • Has raised a total of 1.6 million euros since launch
  • New things to discover every year: the 4 km route is always changing
  • Every year, employees from more than 800 companies take part
  • Donations help 9,000 children and young people get involved in club sports

„Laufend“ Gutes tun

HSH Nordbank Run und HafenCity Hamburg – das passt zusammen. Denn gemeinsam mit dem modernen Stadtteil zwi­schen Innen­stadt und Elbe ist auch der Benefiz­lauf auf eine beachtliche Größe gewachsen. Der Anlass für den Firmen­lauf im Namen der „Bank für Unter­nehmer“ hat sich seit den Anfängen geändert. Was geblieben ist, ist das Engagement für die gute Sache und das Interesse, sich die Hafencity laufend, mit Freunden, Kollegen und Familie zu erkundschaften.

Ein Partner der ersten Stunde ist das Hamburger Abendblatt, das nicht nur, wie hier 2006, medial berichtet.

Der HSH Nordbank Run durch die Hamburger Hafencity fand schon statt, als es diese so noch gar nicht gab. Bereits 2002 traten die ersten 930 Läufer in dem Gebiet rund um Grasbrook und Kehrwiederspitze an. Damals unter dem Motto „Feuer und Flamme für Hamburg“ als Be­kennt­nis zur Olympia­bewerbung 2012 und noch über Sand und Brachflächen. In der Hafen­city war gerade mal ein Jahr zuvor der erste Grund­stein für den Ausbau des neuen Stadt­teils gelegt worden und auch die Elb­phil­har­monie war noch nicht Bau, sondern gerade erst in Planung.
Die Spiele kamen bekanntlich nicht nach Hamburg, die Elb­phil­har­monie ist inzwischen eröffnet, und der Lauf hat sich über die Jahre zur festen Größe entwickelt, die es, gemessen an der Teil­nehmer­zahl, mit anderen Hamburger Groß­ver­anstaltungen wie den Cyclassics oder dem Marathon locker aufnehmen kann. Ein Partner der ersten Stunde ist das Hamburger Abendblatt, das nicht nur medial berichtet. Die gesammelten Spenden­gelder kommen verschiedenen Zwecken unter dem Dach des Hilfs­vereins „Kinder helfen Kindern“ vom Hamburger Abendblatt zugute.

Lauf ist fester Bestandteil des Sommers

HSH Nordbank Run 2017
831 Teams mit ins­ge­samt 24.218 Läufern traten beim HSH Nord­bank Run 2017 an, dem mittlerweile größten Benefizlauf Nord­deutsch­lands.

Für viele Hamburger ist der Lauf mittlerweile ein fester Bestandteil des Sommers, zu dem man sich mit Kollegen, Familie und Freunden verabredet. Das merkt man an den hohen Teil­nehmer­zahlen: „In diesem Jahr traten 831 Teams mit ins­ge­samt 24.218 Läufern an.“ so die Organisatoren. „Wir sind momentan stabil um 150.000€ Euro Spenden pro Jahr.“ Zusammen mit den Spenden­summen aus den vergangenen Jahren kommen mittlerweile insgesamt rund 1,6 Mio Euro zusammen – eine stolze Summe, die die Ver­an­stalter in ihrem Konzept bestätigt: „Das so viele Menschen teilnehmen, zeigt die gute Grundidee: Mit Freunden das Areal der Hafen­city läuferisch erkunden. Es gibt diesen tollen Satz: Hamburg. Gemeinsam. Und dieser Lauf ist ein tolles Beispiel für den Gemein­sinn in unserer Stadt.“

Der HSH Nordbank Run ist mittlerweile der größte Benefizlauf Nord­deutsch­lands. Und nicht nur das, er ist sogar die größte Lauf­ver­anstaltung in Hamburg. Das zeigte sich auch an den Start­zeiten am diesjährigen Lauftag: Um 9 Uhr startete das erste Läuferteam, das letzte 10 Stunden später, um 19 Uhr. Dazwischen starteten die gemeldeten Teams nahezu im Sekundentakt.

Hamburger laufen für Hamburgs Kinder

Die Strecke führte die Läufer an der damals noch nicht im Bau befindlichen Elbphilharmonie vorbei
In der Hafencity war 2002, beim ersten HafenCity Lauf, gerade mal ein Jahr zuvor der erste Grundstein für den Ausbau des neuen Stadtteils gelegt worden und auch die Elbphilarmonie war, wie die Streckenführung hier zeigt, noch nicht im Bau.

Mit dem Lauf ist auch sein Veranstaltungsort, die HafenCity gewachsen. 2008 offiziell ge­grün­det, ist in den vergangenen Jahren aus der ehemaligen Hafenfläche Großer Gras­brook, sowie den Inseln Kehrwieder und Wand­rahm ein lebhaftes Wohn- und Geschäfts­viertel ent­standen. Die HSH Nord­bank sieht sich der Region tief verbunden: „Als Namens­geber des HSH Nord­bank Run freuen wir uns besonders über die mehr als 24.000 Läuferinnen und Läufer, die mittlerweile jedes Jahr ihre Sport­schuhe schnüren und bei dem Lauf für einen Tag das Stadt­bild in der Hafen­City prägen“, so Stefan Ermisch, Vor­stands­vor­sitzender der HSH Nord­bank. Ermisch ließ es sich nicht nehmen, den Startschuss höchst­per­sönlich zu geben. Im Anschluss führte die Strecke zudem an Projekten von Immobilien­kunden vorbei und auch einige Kunden der Bank haben ihre Büros in der HafenCity.

Wie tief das gesellschaftliche Engagement in der HSH Nordbank verankert ist, zeigte sich an der Teilnehmerzahl ihrer Mitarbeiter. Mit über 500 Teilnehmern stellte die Bank eines der größten Teams bei dem Lauf. Und auch für viele andere in Hamburg ansässige Institutionen ist der Lauf ein Muss: Von Schulen und Kindergärten über die Bezirksämter bis hin zu Unternehmen aus der Hafen & Logistikbranche und traditionsreichen Unternehmen wie Beiersdorf und J.J. Darboven nehmen über 800 Teams teil und zeigen so ihr Engagement.

„Als Namensgeber des HSH Nordbank Run freuen wir uns besonders über die mehr als 24.000 Läuferinnen und Läufer, die mittlerweile jedes Jahr ihre Sportschuhe schnüren und bei dem Lauf für einen Tag das Stadtbild in der HafenCity prägen.“

Stefan Ermisch, Vorstandsvorsitzender der HSH Nordbank

Spendengelder landen dort, wo sie gebraucht werden

Vom Startgeld jeder Gruppe gehen 10 Euro und von jedem Einzelläufer 6 Euro an die Initiative „... und los. Kids in die Clubs“, um sozial benachteiligten Kindern und Jugendlichen die Mitgliedschaft und Ausstattung in einem Sportverein zu ermöglichen. „Hamburger sind sportbegeistert und haben Herz!“ freut sich Stefan Ermisch. Jährlich können so rund 9.000 Kinder und Jugendliche sportlich gefördert werden. Und zwar ohne Abzüge – die Spendengelder landen eins zu eins dort, wo sie benötigt werden. Das ermöglichen auch die Mitarbeiter des Hamburger Abendblatt, die ihren Einsatz ehrenamtlich tätigen.

Der HSH Nordbank Run in Zahlen

Logo HSH Nordbank Run

  • Seit 2002 in der Hafencity Hamburg
  • ca. 1,6 Mio Euro Spendensumme gesamt seit Beginn
  • Jedes Jahr neues entdecken: 4 km Laufstrecke verlaufen stets anders
  • Jährlich beteiligen sich über 800 Unternehmen mit ihren Mitarbeitern
  • 9.000 Kinder & Jugendliche werden durch Spendengelder sportlich gefördert