Setting sail in Kieler Woche

More than three million visitors watching athletes from 66 nations – Kieler Woche (Kiel Week) is a mega-event, the largest sailing competition in the world and the biggest public festival in northern Europe. Every year, at the end of June, the aquatic duels that characterize Kieler Woche inspire sailing fans and landlubbers alike. And every year, the high point of Kieler Woche is a great parade of tall ships along Kiel Fjord.

Kieler Woche smashes records! Like: 1,700 boats registering for regattas – in all the competition’s 135 years, there’s never been anything like it. The annual sailing event has been held in front of Kiel’s Laboe Naval Memorial since the late 19th century. Just 20 yachts took part in the first regatta off Düsternbrook yacht harbor back in 1882. Now Kieler Woche attracts sailing fans from all over the world. Every year, some 4,000 sailors gather in Kiel Fjord to take part in the competitions. And every year, in the last week of June, Kiel becomes the ultimate destination for sailing enthusiasts everywhere. Regattas are held in 16 national and international boat classes, plus the 10 Olympic classes. Yachts also compete in international ORC classes I-IV, as well as various one-design classes.

Cultural cooperation

But Kieler Woche is much more than just a sailing competition. It’s a full-scale spectacle with more than 2,000 separate events, gigs and concerts. The 1972 Olympic Games first inspired the public festival that now runs alongside the sporting event in Schleswig-Holstein’s regional capital. “At the time, it was all about promoting cultural cooperation,” explains Dirk Ramhorst, who chairs the organizing committee. “And that’s still a key factor today. We’ve got visitors coming to Kiel from 66 countries – that’s unique.” Highlights of the festival week include the awards ceremonies for the Global Economy Prize and the city’s Science Prize and Innovation Prize, as well as the traditional fireworks display. And once again, the three million or so visitors attending this year’s 10-day festival were kept cheerful and entertained by musicians, artists and plenty of good food.

Dedicated to sports and young people

“Good for Kids” charity campaign during Kieler Woche
“Good for Kids” charity campaign during Kieler Woche

All this is made possible also by premium sponsors such as HSH Nordbank, with a commitment based on deep regional roots. This is the 14th year in a row that the bank has sponsored this major sporting event on Germany’s north coast. And not only that – every year, the bank also runs the “Good for Kids” charity campaign during Kieler Woche (see box). An important issue for Stefan Ermisch, CEO of HSH Nordbank. “Kieler Woche is a unique combination of social cooperation and top-level sporting performance. Team spirit and fairness play a central role in the regattas – and these values are also important for children and young people.”

More about Good for Kids

“Gut für Kids” (Good for Kids), a charity campaign launched in 2011 by Kieler Woche and HSH Nordbank.
“Gut für Kids” (Good for Kids), a charity campaign launched in 2011 by Kieler Woche and HSH Nordbank.

Once again, visitors to this year’s Kieler Woche could buy blue charity armbands for one euro each from promotional teams or 120 sales stands. Or they could pay out 10 euros for this year’s special highlight – a black armband emblazoned with “Gut für Kids” (Good for Kids). The charity campaign was launched in 2011 by Kieler Woche and HSH Nordbank. All donations go to the “Kids into Clubs” project, a joint initiative by the city’s sports association Sportverband Kiel e.V., participating clubs, and Kiel city council. The aim is to enable children and young people to take part in club sports; the funding is used to buy sports equipment and other gear.

Boosting the regional economy

But even outside the festival week, the sporting event makes a major contribution to the regional economy. “ Several hundred jobs depend on Kieler Woche all year round,” says event chairman Dirk Ramhorst. He has been involved since 2004, as one of 450 volunteers who make Kieler Woche possible. For him, Kieler Woche is a very special event. “There’s a popular saying among sailing enthusiasts: ‘Do it like in Kiel’. One example of this is the live TV coverage of the sailing competitions, so the spectators back on shore can see it all up close. It’s a unique blend of tradition and innovation.”

„There’s a popular saying among sailing enthusiasts: ‘Do it like in Kiel’.“

Dirk Ramhorst, Chairman of the Kieler Woche organizing committee

Bringing audience and athletes together

"Being so close to the spectators – there’s nothing like it anywhere else!"

But Kieler Woche isn’t just an annual highlight for sports lovers and visitors from around the world – it’s also good news for the region’s professional athletes. Jan-Hauke Erichsen trains in Schilksee harbor, so for him, having the regatta on his doorstep is a big incentive. “Being so close to the spectators, there’s nothing like it anywhere else! You come ashore and you meet all these people standing there watching you, talking to you, cheering you!”

Sporting diversity

Every year, the competitors start their regattas from the Schilksee Olympic Center. This year, sailors from 66 countries competed for trophies in 16 different classes. Spectators along the Kiellinie – the western side of Kiel Fjord – enjoyed a number of special competitions such as Optimist dinghy races, canoe polo and “Kutterpullen” rowing races. This year, there was another sporting highlight – the Para World Sailing Championships, masterminded by World Sailing and the organizers of Kieler Woche to promote inclusiveness in sailing. The inclusion of sailors with disabilities has been an important part of Kieler Woche for many years.

Kieler Woche 2018 will see more world-class sport as the city hosts the final of the Sailing World Cup – the high point of the international Olympic and Paralympic racing series. This is another feather in the cap of Kiel.Sailing.City, underscoring the city’s reputation as the world capital of sailing.

Kieler Woche in figures

  • 135 years of Kieler Woche
  • 4,000 sailors on 1,699 boats
  • 16 sailing competitions
  • 3 million visitors
  • 16 stages with live music
  • 555 Kieler Woche flags flying

Leinen los an der Förde

Mehr als drei Millionen Besucher und Sportler aus 66 Ländern: Die Kieler Woche ist ein Mega-Event – das größte Se­gel­sport­fest der Welt und das größte Volksfest im Norden. Die Wettkämpfe auf dem Wasser begeistern gleichermaßen Segel­sport­fans und Land­ratten jedes Jahr Ende Juni. Ihren Höhepunkt findet die Kieler Woche alljährlich in der großen Wind­jammer­parade in der Kieler Förde.

Die Kieler Woche knackt Rekorde: 1.700 Regatta-Meldungen – das gab es noch nie in 135 Jahren. Seit Ende des 19. Jahrhundert schon findet das Segelsportereignis vor Laboe statt. 20 Yachten starteten 1882 zu ihrer ersten Regatta vor Düsternbrook. Mittlerweile begeistert die Kieler Woche Segelsportfans aus aller Welt. Rund 4.000 Segler kommen jährlich an die Förde, um sich in Wettkämpfen zu messen. Kiel ist in der letzten Juniwoche jedes Jahr aufs Neue das Mekka für Segler. In 16 nationalen und internationalen Bootsklassen sowie in den zehn Olympischen Klassen finden Regatten statt. Zudem messen die Yachten in den Klassen ORC International I-IV und in verschiedenen One Design-Klassen ihre Kräfte.

Kulturelles Miteinander

Die Kieler Woche ist aber weit mehr als nur eine Segelregatta. Sie ist ein Spektakel mit mehr als 2.000 Einzel­ver­anstaltungen und Konzerten. Start­schuss für das Volksfest in der schleswig-holsteinischen Landeshauptstadt rund um den sportlichen Wettkampf waren die olympischen Spiele 1972: „Man wollte damals das kulturelle Miteinander fördern“, so Dirk Ramhorst vom Organisationskomitee, „das ist auch heute ein wesentlicher Faktor. Wir haben 66 Nationen, die nach Kiel kommen – das ist einmalig.“ Zu den Höhepunkten der Festwoche zählen die Verleihung des Weltwirtschaftlichen Preises und die des Wissenschaftspreises und Innovationspreises der Stadt sowie das traditionelle Feuerwerk. Musiker, Künstler und Kulinarik sorgten auch in diesem Jahr in den zehn Festtagen für Unterhaltung und tolle Stimmung bei den rund drei Millionen Besuchern.

Engagement für den Sport und die Jugend

Charity-Aktion „Gut für Kids“ auf der Kieler Woche
Charity-Aktion „Gut für Kids“ auf der Kieler Woche

Möglich machen dies auch die Premium­sponsoren wie die HSH Nord­bank, die mit ihrem Engagement tief in der Region verankert ist: Bereits zum 14. Mal in Folge unterstützt die Bank das sportliche Großereignis im Norden, und nicht nur das, auch mit ihrer Charity-Aktion „Gut für Kids“ war die Bank wieder auf der Kieler Woche unterwegs (siehe Kasten), für Stefan Ermisch, Vorstandsvorsitzender der HSH Nordbank ein besonderes Anliegen: „Die Kieler Woche verknüpft gesellschaftliches Miteinander und sportliche Höchstleistungen in einzigartiger Weise. Teamgeist und Fairness stehen bei den Regatten im Mittelpunkt und sind Werte, die auch für Kinder und Jugend­liche wichtig sind.“

Mehr über Gut für Kids

An 120 Verkaufsständen und bei Promotion­teams konnten die Besucher der Kieler Woche auch in diesem Jahr wieder die blauen Charity-Armbänder für 1€ kaufen. Besonderes High­light in diesem Jahr war das schwarze Armband mit dem Aufdruck „Gut für Kids“ für 10€. Die Charity Aktion ist im Jahr 2011 von der Kieler Woche und der HSH Nordbank ins Leben ge­rufen worden, Spenden kommen dem Projekt „Kids in die Clubs“ zugute, das vom Sport­ver­band Kiel e.V. und seinen teil­nehmen­den Ver­ein­en und der Landes­haupt­stadt gemeinsam gegründet wurde. Ziel ist es, Kindern und Jugendlichen die Teilnahme am Vereinssport zu ermöglichen. Sportgeräte und anderes Material können mit den Mitteln beschaffen werden.

Wirtschaftsfaktor für die Region

Auch abseits der Festwoche ist das Sportereignis ein großer Wirtschaftsfaktor für die Region: „Mehrere hundert Arbeitsplätze hängen ganzjährig an die Kieler Woche“, so Regatta-Chairman Dirk Ramhorst. Er ist bereits seit 2004 dabei und damit einer von 450 Ehrenamtlichen, die die Kieler Woche möglich machen. Für ihn ein ganz besonderes Ereignis: „Es gibt einen berühmten Spruch im Segelsport: Do it like in Kiel. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Übertragung der Segelwettbewerbe an Land, damit auch die Zuschauer alles mitbekommen. Diese Verbindung von Tradition und Innovation ist einmalig.“

„Es gibt einen berühmten Spruch im Segelsport: Do it like in Kiel.“

Dirk Ramhorst, Chairman des Kieler Woche Organisationskomitee

Besondere Nähe zwischen Publikum und Sportlern

Diese Nähe zum Publikum, die gibt es so nirgendwo anders! Man kommt an Land und dann stehen da so viele Leute, die einen beobachten, ansprechen oder bejubeln
„Diese Nähe zum Publikum, die gibt es so nirgendwo anders.“

Doch nicht nur für Sportler und Gäste aus aller Welt ist die Kieler Woche ein Highlight, sondern auch für Profis aus der Region. Jan-Hauke Erichsen trainiert in Kiel Schilksee, für ihn hat die Regatta direkt vor der Haustür ein ganz besonderes Flair: „Diese Nähe zum Publikum, die gibt es so nirgendwo anders! Man kommt an Land und dann stehen da so viele Leute, die einen beobachten, ansprechen oder bejubeln.“

Sportliche Vielfalt

Vom Olympiazentrum Schilksee starten die Segelsportler jedes Jahr ihre Regatten. In 16 verschiedenen Klassen kämpften in diesem Jahr Segler aus 66 Nationen um Pokale. Für die Zuschauer entlang der Kiellinie gibt es ganz besondere „Wettkämpfe“ wie Optimistenrennen, Kanupolo oder auch Kutterpullen. Und noch ein sportliches Highlight gab es in diesem Jahr: Die Para World Sailing Championships. Damit wollen der Weltsegler-Verband und die Kieler-Woche-Veranstalter ein Zeichen für die Inklusion im Segelsport setzen. Die Inklusion von Seglern mit Behinderung ist seit Jahren ein fester Bestandteil der Kieler Woche.

Auch bei der Kieler Woche 2018 wird wird es mit dem Finale des Sailing World Cups – der Höhepunkt der inter­nationalen Renn­serie des olympischen und paralympischen Segelsports – wieder Spitzensport geben. Das ist ein positives Signal für Kiel.Sailing.City und unterstreicht den Ruf als Welthauptstadt des Segelns.

Die Kieler Woche in Zahlen

  • 135 Jahre Kieler Woche
  • 4.000 Segler auf 1.699 Booten
  • 16 Segelwettkämpfe
  • 3 Mio. Besucher
  • 16 Bühnen mit Live-Musik
  • 555 gehisste Kieler Woche Flaggen