Founders spirit meets corporate world

September 2018 -On the initiative of HSH Nordbank start-ups from the Next Commerce Accelerator (NCA) meet experienced entrepreneurs. The aim is to make contacts, set up businesses - and learn from each other.

Colourful furniture, billiard tables, table football, posters on the walls - in a coworking space where start-ups cavort, things look different than in the classic Hamburg office. But that doesn't mean that the founders aren't serious about it. On the contrary. The business plans are in place, the focus is clear: winning customers, rolling up the market, earning money - the best thing is to become the next big thing.

The ambition and professionalism of the founders became clear at the speed dating event "Meet and Greet - Trade & Logistics" organized on the initiative of HSH Nordbank in the rent24 coworking space. Five startups from the sector trading and logistics met more than a dozen clients of HSH Nordbank, who are also active in this sector and have been doing business for many decades in some cases, all established big names of the Hamburg trading team.

At the Speed Dating, the startups - including a mail-order company for men's underwear, two logistics specialists, an e-commerce shop developer and a marketer of care foot masks - were available for talks for the companies after their brief introduction. The entrepreneurs visit the founders they are most interested in, after 15 minutes a gong rings the bell for the change - speed dating.

"Direct contact with companies is important for startups," says Thorsten Wittmütz, Managing Director of Next Commerce Accelerators. "In larger companies, the founders often find it difficult to present their ideas to the decision-makers. They first have to work their way past the reception desk. A tedious intermediate step, which is not necessary for NCA Speed Dating. "The founders profit from the contact to successful companies in different ways. On the one hand, they can learn from companies that have been on the market for some time. On the other hand, they gain access to potential customers."

 The coworking-space of the startups looks different than in classic working environments

The coworking-space of the startups looks different than in classic working environments

Beyond, established companies benefit from contact with the start-up scene, says Patrick Miljes, Head of Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank. "They get to know new business ideas and the entrepreneurial spirit that inspires and gives them an insight into how young people think and act. The latter in particular is an important aspect. "After all, these are the customers of today and tomorrow. In order to get to know as much as possible of the entrepreneurial spirit, a large Hamburg company participating in the NCA invites five start-ups every six months. They present their ideas to the company's employees and discuss them - Start-up culture meets everyday corporate life.

“Established companies benefit from contact with the start-up scene.They get to know new business ideas and the entrepreneurial spirit that gives them an insight into how young people think and act”

Patrick Miljes, Head of Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank

"Many classic entrepreneurs are very open-minded about start-ups," says Patrick Miljes. "As a rule, established companies think very long-term. That's another reason why they don't want to miss out on any significant developments and always want to know in good time how markets are developing. Contact with start-ups will help you to do this." And there is something else that is important: "Some companies are thinking about investing directly in start-ups.

Next Commerce Accelerator

Next Commerce Accelerator (NCA) is an innovation driver founded in 2017 and initiated by HSH Nordbank and Hamburger Sparkasse (Haspa). The City of Hamburg is also on board as a partner. The joint venture, in which other well-known Hamburg companies are also involved, brings together start-ups, established companies and experts in order to jointly develop new ideas in the area of commerce and e-commerce. The NCA supports start-ups and start-up teams from all over Europe in the development of innovative business models. In addition to equity capital of up to 50,000 euros, it offers access to potential customers and business partners, a coaching programme and premises. In return, the start-ups sell between three and ten percent of their shares to the NCA shareholders. They relocate their work focus to Hamburg for at least six months in order to promote their company growth there under ideal conditions. The coaching is carried out by a mentoring group of around 200 entrepreneurs, specialists and representatives of large companies.

The five Start-ups from the speed-dating "Trade meets logistics"

Our competencies - Strong for entrepreneurs

Gründergeist trifft Konzernwelt

September 2018 – Auf Initiative der HSH Nordbank treffen Startups des Next Commerce Accelerators (NCA) auf erfahrene Unternehmer. Das Ziel: Kontakte knüpfen, Geschäfte einfädeln – und voneinander lernen.

Bunte Möbel, Billardtisch, Tischkicker, Plakate an den Wänden – in einem Coworking-Space, indem sich Startups tummeln, sieht es eben anders aus, als im klassischen Hamburger Kontor. Was aber nicht heißt, dass die Gründer nicht ernsthaft bei der Sache sind. Im Gegenteil. Die Businesspläne stehen, der Fokus ist klar: Kunden gewinnen, den Markt aufrollen, Geld verdienen – am besten the next big thing werden.

Der Ehrgeiz und die Professionalität der Gründer wurden bei der auf Initiative der HSH Nordbank organisierten Speed-Dating-Veranstaltung „Meet & Greet – Handel meets Logistik“ im rent24 Coworking-Space deutlich. Dabei trafen fünf Startups aus dem Bereich Handel und Logistik auf mehr als ein Dutzend Kunden der HSH Nordbank, die ebenfalls in diesem Bereich aktiv sind und ihre Geschäfte teilweise seit vielen Jahrzehnten betreiben, alles etablierte Größen der Hamburger Kaufmannschaft.

Bei dem Speed-Dating stehen die Startups – darunter ein Versender von Männerunterwäsche, zwei Logistikspezialisten, ein e-commerce-Entwickler sowie ein Vermarkter von pflegenden Fußmasken – nach ihren kurzen Pitches an ihren Ständen für Gespräche zur Verfügung. Die Unternehmer besuchen jene Gründer, die sie am meisten interessieren, nach 15 Minuten läutet ein Gong den Wechsel ein – Speed-Dating eben.

„Für die Startups ist der direkte Kontakt zu Unternehmen wichtig“, sagt Thorsten Wittmütz, Managing Partner des Next Commerce Accelerators. „Die Gründer haben bei größeren Unternehmen oft Mühe, ihre Ideen den Entscheidern präsentieren zu können. Die müssen sich erst einmal am Empfang vorbei arbeiten.“ Ein mühsamer Zwischenschritt, der beim NCA-Speed-Dating entfällt. „Die Gründer profitieren von dem Kontakt zu erfolgreichen Unternehmen auf verschiedene Weise. Zum einen können sie von Firmen lernen, die schon länger am Markt sind. Zum anderen bekommen sie den Zugang zu möglichen Kunden.“

 Im Coworking-Space der Startups sieht es anders aus als in klassischen Arbeitswelten

Im Coworking-Space der Startups sieht es anders aus als in klassischen Arbeitswelten

Auf der anderen Seite profitieren etablierte Firmen vom Kontakt mit der Gründerszene, sagt Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden bei der HSH Nordbank. „Sie lernen neue Geschäftsideen kennen und deren Gründergeist, der inspirierend wirkt und ihnen einen Einblick gewährt, wie Digital Natives denken und handeln.“ Gerade Letzteres sei ein wichtiger Aspekt. „Schließlich sind das die Kunden heute und von morgen.“ Um vom Gründergeist möglichst viel mitzubekommen, lädt ein großes Hamburger Unternehmen, das am NCA beteiligt ist, alle sechs Monate fünf Startups ein. Die präsentieren ihre Ideen vor Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern des Unternehmens und diskutieren darüber – Gründerkultur trifft Konzern-Arbeitsalltag.

„Etablierte Firmen profitieren vom Kontakt mit der Gründerszene. Sie lernen neue Geschäftsideen kennen und deren Gründergeist, der ihnen Einblick gewährt, wie Digital Natives denken und handeln.“

Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden bei der HSH Nordbank

„Viele klassische Unternehmer sind gegenüber Startups sehr aufgeschlossen“, hat Patrick Miljes festgestellt. „Die etablierten Firmen denken in der Regel sehr langfristig. Auch deshalb wollen sie keine bedeutende Entwicklung verpassen und stets rechtzeitig erkennen, wie sich Märkte entwickeln. Der Kontakt mit Startups hilft Ihnen dabei.“ Und noch etwas Anderes sei wichtig: „Einige Unternehmen denken durchaus über eine direkte Investition in Startups nach.“

Next Commerce Accelerator

Der Next Commerce Accelerator (NCA) ist ein 2017 gegründeter Innovationstreiber, der von der HSH Nordbank und der Hamburger Sparkasse (Haspa) initiiert wurde. Auch die Stadt Hamburg ist als Partner mit an Bord. Das Joint Venture, bei dem auch andere, namhafte Hamburger Firmen mitmachen, führt Startups, etablierte Unternehmen und Experten zusammen, um gemeinsam neue Ideen im Bereich des Handels und des e-Commerce zu entwickeln. Der NCA unterstützt Startups und Gründer-Teams aus ganz Europa bei der Entwicklung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle. Er bietet neben Beteiligungskapital von bis zu 50.000 Euro, Zugang zu potenziellen Kunden und Geschäftspartnern, ein Coachingprogramm sowie Räumlichkeiten. Im Gegenzug geben die Startups Unternehmensanteile zwischen drei und zehn Prozent an die NCA-Gesellschafter ab. Sie verlegen ihren Arbeitsschwerpunkt für mindestens sechs Monate nach Hamburg, um dort unter Idealbedingungen ihr Unternehmenswachstum voranzutreiben. Das Coaching übernimmt eine rund 200-köpfige Mentorengruppe mit Unternehmern, Spezialisten und Vertretern von Großunternehmen.

Die fünf Startups beim Speed-Dating "Handel meets Logistik"

Der Bereich Unter­nehmens­kunden der HSH Nord­bank