Wrapped up securely

Germany’s medium-sized businesses broaden their funding basis. In particular promissory note loans are flourishing, and, in the ongoing low interest rate environment, both issuers and investors can benefit from their advantages. The POLIFILM Group, whose holding company has its registered office in Cologne, one of the largest suppliers of extrusion and protective film worldwide, has, for many years, been successfully using the promissory note loan – and cooperating with HSH Nord­bank to place them for many years.

Protective film for automobiles
Protective film for automobiles

When a new car rolls onto the dealer’s forecourt anywhere in the world, when a fine carpet is rolled out for the first time in a hotel lobby or office, when a new LCD monitor is hung up on the wall or when an obscenely expensive high-tech kitchen made from stainless steel is put into operation, one thing is certain: Protective film plays a part. It is also highly likely that the film originates from one of the factories of the POLIFILM Group scattered around the globe, whose holding company has its registered office in Cologne. With around 1,400 employees, POLIFILM claims to be the global number two in the booming market for protective films. Also in the field of polyethylene-based extrusion films, POLIFILM ranks among the top companies in the world – from stretch films for integrating pallets to food packaging and tarpaulins, for example used in agriculture.

The family concern is meanwhile in its fifth decade of existence. Founder Lutz Runkel, born in 1948, is today the Managing Director of the holding company POLIFILM Holding GmbH. In 2011, his sons joined the management team with Bastian Runkel, born in 1976, representing POLIFILM EXTRUSION GmbH, and Christian Runkel, born in 1979, representing POLIFILM PROTECTION GmbH. The father & sons team is assisted by a large number of experts from outside the family, who, among other things, have, however, been on board for such a long time that they could safely be termed family members.

Thin films, major finance

Walter Hantzsche, CFO at the holding company level, is one of these veterans. Full of pride, he looks back over the rapid development of past years and decades. His steady leadership as Chief Treasurer was decisive for the tremendous growth. “Our business is very capital-intensive”, says Hantzsche. “A special machine costs five to seven million euros. We have 60 such machines at our Bitterfeld site alone, the largest of its kind in Europe”, he reports. Around 200,000 tonnes of polyethylene film are manufactured at the factory in Saxony-Anhalt every year.

The machinery worth millions is generally financed over five years. The economic life, however, – assuming good and regular maintenance – amounts to up to 25 years. In the language of the treasurer, Hantzsche calls that a “gap in the financial planning”, that needs to be covered. In that respect, the borrower's note loan has been a tried and tested means of choice for POLIFILM for years.

According to Mr. Hantzsche, POLIFILM brings a new promissory note onto the market, typically with a term of five years, every two to three years on average. The multinational protective film company last issued a product of this kind in autumn 2016. HSH Nordbank, which has been an established finance and consulting partner of POLIFILM with respect to promissory note loans and more conventional working capital financing since the early 2000s, has again been part of the consortium.

„I really appreciate the reliable advice we receive from HSH Nordbank and their ability to listen.“

Walter Hantzsche, CFO at POLIFILM GmbH

With the last promissory note in the fall of 2016, POLIFILM raised € 70 million. “Issuing promissory notes has already become a routine for us”, says Hantzsche. He especially appreciates, about their partner HSH Nordbank, the effective and unobstructed opportunities to liaise with any potential investors. “The principal investors in our promissory notes have always been Germany's savings banks", says Hantzsche. As one of the leading federal state banks, HSH Nordbank has a real trump card here.

POLIFILM is very familiar with the investors in the promissory note loans – a real difference, for instance, to anonymous bonds. “And also in comparison to the classic syndicated loan, the promissory note loan is increasingly catching up. The product is currently very popular”, says Mark Bussmann, Head of Treasury & Markets at HSH Nordbank. In addition, an increasing number of promissory notes is being brought to the investors as part of private placements.

With a new issue volume of 19.7 billion euros since the beginning of 2016, the previous all-time high of 2015 had already been exceeded in the third quarter of 2016. By the end of 2016, the total issue volume reached over 26 billion euros. By comparison, the entire issue volume of promissory note loans in the German market in 2010 was only 4.7 billion according to information provided by HSH Nordbank Research.

In the tailwind of Porsche

Packaging film
Packaging film

“The most important drivers are the trend towards large transactions – often to refinance M&A activities – the temporarily increasing substitution of bonds by promissory note loans, and an increased supply of promissory notes by foreign issuers”, is the conclusion reached by a survey conducted by BayernLB in October 2016.

Corporate promissory note loans, known in short as “CSSD” (CBNL) are no longer the domain of medium-sized industrial companies and service providers. The emissions of large German industrial companies have in the meantime reached billions of euros. Thus, the sports carmaker Porsche, for example, raised 1.1 billion euros by issuing a promissory note in 2016. A total of four issues exceeded the billion euro threshold in 2016.

Investors prefer maturities of between five and seven years. Almost half of all promissory notes have such maturities. Given the continued low interest rate environment, shorter maturities are less in demand.

The demand side increasingly presents itself as being broadened and internationalized. The traditional buyers of promissory note loans are domestic banks, in particular, regional savings banks. In this way, they diversify their credit portfolio, which is mostly limited to the region. In addition, borrowers increasingly include insurance companies, pension funds, social security agencies and international investors. In individual cases, foreign investors latterly have accounted for half of the demand, in particular, with larger promissory note loans. German promissory note loans are currently very popular, especially with Asian investors due to the relative security they offer.

The promissory notes on offer are frequently over-subscribed, thus the market continues to remain receptive. Börsen AG Hamburg-Hanover stock exchange has adapted to accommodate this trend, and has, since March 2017, been offering a secondary OTC market for promissory note loans.

M&A business drives the market

In the current low interest rate environment, all investors are on the lookout for investments with a better interest rate - and German promissory note loans fit the bill at a risk that is still manageable. Companies such as POLIFILM in turn make use of the current very low interest rate environment and risk premiums to raise debt on advantageous terms, often to fund expansions and takeovers.

Nonetheless, in the words of Mark Bussmann, as a product, promissory note loans are not as simple as for example traditional loans. “We are mainly in demand as advisers here”, explains Bussmann. That is also emphasized by Walter Hantzsche, who has learned, over the years, to appreciate the “reliable advice and the ability to listen of HSH Nordbank”.

Promissory note loan trend

Activities on the German promissory note market

Promissory note loan trend - Activities on the German promissory note market


Source: HSH Nordbank Research

Bussmann’s team is currently involved with another theme on behalf of its clients concerning smart concepts for active financial management. “Depositing money in the bank at negative interest rates cannot be the aim”, says the HSH Nordbank expert. One possible answer to counteract the negative interest: Structured deposit products, a combination of short-term and long-term time deposits, or other sophisticated structured instruments involving put and call features.

Sicher verpackt

Deutschlands Mittelständler verbreitern ihre Finanzierungsbasis. Besonders Schuld­schein­darlehen florieren und spielen im anhaltenden Niedrigzinsumfeld ihre Vorteile für Emittenten und Investoren aus. Die POLIFILM Gruppe mit Holdingsitz in Köln, einer der welt­größten Anbieter von Extrusions- und Schutz­folien, schwört seit Langem auf den Schuldschein – und vertraut bei den Platzierungen dabei seit Jahren den Experten der HSH Nordbank.

Schutzfolie für Automotive
Schutzfolie für Automotive

Wenn irgendwo auf der Welt ein neues Auto auf den Hof des Händlers rollt, wenn ein edler Teppichboden erstmals im Hotelfoyer oder Büro ausgerollt wird, wenn ein neuer LCD-Bild­schirm an der Wand aufgehängt oder wenn eine sündhaft teure Hightech-Küche aus Edel­stahl in Betrieb genommen wird, ist eines sicher: Dann ist Schutzfolie mit im Spiel. Dabei ist die Wahr­schein­lich­keit hoch, dass die Folie aus einem der rund um den Globus verstreuten Werke der POLIFILM Gruppe stammt, die ihren Holdingsstammsitz im Herzen Kölns hat. POLIFILM ist mit weltweit rund 1.400 Mit­ar­bei­tern nach eigenen Angaben die globale Num­mer zwei im boomenden Markt für Schutz­folien. Auch im Bereich der Extrusions­folien auf Poly­ethylen­basis spielt POLIFILM unter den Großen der Welt mit – von Stretchfolien zum Einbinden von Paletten über Lebensmittelverpackungen bis hin zu Abdeckplanen etwa in der Landwirtschaft.

Das Familienunternehmen befindet sich mittlerweile im fünften Jahrzehnt seines Bestehens. Firmengründer Lutz Runkel, Jahrgang 1948, ist heute Geschäftsführer der Holdinggesellschaft POLIFILM Holding GmbH. 2011 wur­den seine Söhne in die Geschäftsführung berufen, wo Bastian Runkel, Jahrgang 1976, die POLIFILM EXTRU­SION GmbH vertritt, Christian Runkel, Jahrgang 1979, die POLIFILM PROTECTION GmbH. Unterstützung be­kommt das Vater-Sohn-Sohn-Gespann durch eine Vielzahl familienfremder Experten, die mitunter aber schon so lange an Bord sind, dass sie getrost als Familienangehörige bezeichnet werden könnten.

Dünne Folien, dicke Finanzierungen

Walter Hantzsche, Leiter Finanzen auf Holdingebene, ist eines dieser Urgesteine. Voller Stolz blickt er auf die rasante Ent­wick­lung der vergangenen Jahre und Jahrzehnte. Auch sein ruhiges und bestimmtes Händ­chen als Chef-Treasurer des Hauses war entscheidend für das sprunghafte Wachstum. „Unser Geschäft ist sehr kapital­intensiv“, sagt Hantzsche. „Fünf bis sieben Millionen Euro kostet eine Spezialmaschine. Allein in unserem Stand­ort bei Bitterfeld, dem größten seiner Art in Europa, stehen bis zu 60 dieser Maschinen“, berichtet er. Rund 200.000 Tonnen Poly­ethylen­folie werden im Werk in Sachsen-Anhalt jedes Jahr hergestellt.

Die millionenschweren Maschinen werden in der Regel über fünf Jahre finanziert. Die wirt­schaft­liche Nutzungs­dauer beträgt aber – gute und regelmäßige Wartung voraus­gesetzt – bis zu 25 Jahre. Hantzsche nennt das in der Spra­che des Treasurers einen „Gap in der Finanz­planung“, der ge­deckt sein will. Ein probates Mittel der Wahl stellt für POLIFILM dabei seit Jahren das Schuldscheindarlehen dar.

Im Schnitt bringt POLIFILM nach Hantzsches Worten alle zwei bis drei Jahre einen neuen Schuldschein auf den Markt, meist mit einer Laufzeit von fünf Jahren. Den letzten Titel dieser Art emittierte der Folien­multi im Herbst 2016. Mit im Banken­kon­sortium befand sich auch wieder die HSH Nord­bank, seit Anfang der 2000er fester Finanzierungs- und Beratungspartner von POLIFILM beim Thema Schuld­schein­darlehen, aber auch bei der klassischen Betriebsmittelfinanzierung.

„Ich schätze die verlässlichen Ratgeber und guten Zuhörer aufseiten der HSH Nordbank.“

Walter Hantzsche, Leiter Finanzen der POLIFILM GmbH

70 Millionen Euro erlöste POLIFILM mit dem vorerst letzten Schuldschein im Herbst 2016. „Der Schuldschein ist für uns mittler­weile Routine“, sagt Hantzsche. Am Partner HSH Nordbank schätzt er vor allem den direkten und guten Draht zu den potenziellen Investoren. „Die Haupt­ab­nehmer unserer Schuldscheine sind seit jeher die deutschen Sparkassen“, so Hantzsche. Als eine der führenden Landesbanken kann die HSH Nordbank hier eine echte Trumpfkarte ausspielen.

Die Abnehmer der Schuldscheindarlehen sind POLIFILM gut vertraut – ein echter Unterschied etwa zu den ano­nymen Anleihen. „Und auch gegenüber dem klassischen Konsortialkredit holt das Schuld­schein­darlehen immer mehr auf. Das Produkt liegt aktuell einfach im Trend“, sagt Mark Bussmann, Leiter des Bereichs Treasury & Mar­kets der HSH Nordbank. Dazu kommt eine weitere Entwicklung: Immer mehr Schuldscheine werden im Rah­men von Private Placements an die Investoren gebracht.

Mit einem Neuemissionsvolumen von 19,7 Milliarden Euro seit Jahresbeginn 2016 wurde der alte Rekordwert des Jahres 2015 bereits im dritten Quartal 2016 leicht über­troffen. Am Jahresende 2016 lag das gesamte Emis­sions­volumen sogar bei mehr als 26 Milliarden Euro. Zum Vergleich: Im Jahr 2010 betrug das gesamte Emis­sions­volumen am deutschen Markt für Schuld­scheine laut HSH Nordbank Research nur 4,7 Milliarden Euro.

Im Rückenwind von Porsche

Verpackungsfolie
Verpackungsfolie

„Die wichtigsten Treiber sind der Trend zu Großtransaktionen – oftmals zur Re­fi­nan­zie­rung von M&A-Aktivitäten – , die temporär zunehmende Substitution von Anleihen durch Schuldscheindarlehen sowie eine verstärkte Nutzung des Schuldscheins durch ausländische Emittenten“, heißt es in einer Studie der BayernLB aus dem Oktober 2016.

Nicht nur Industrieunternehmen und Dienst­leister­firmen aus dem Mittelstand haben die Corporate-Schuldschein­darlehen, kurz CSSD, für sich entdeckt. Mittlerweile gibt es auch Emissionen im Milliardenformat aus der Hand der deutschen Großindustrie. So holte sich beispielsweise Sportwagen­bauer Porsche per Schuldschein 2016 frische 1,1 Milliarden Euro ins Haus. Insgesamt lagen 2016 vier Emissionen oberhalb der Milliardenmarke.

Investoren bevorzugen Laufzeiten zwischen fünf und sieben Jahren. Fast die Hälfte aller Schuldscheine weist diese Laufzeiten auf. Vor allem das anhaltend niedrige Zinsumfeld hat dazu geführt, dass Papiere mit kürzeren Laufzeiten weniger stark nachgefragt werden.

Zunehmend verbreitert und inter­natio­nalisiert präsentiert sich auch die Nachfrageseite. Zu den traditionellen Abnehmern von Schuldscheindarlehen gehören inländische Kreditinstitute, insbesondere die regional ver­anker­ten Sparkassen. Sie diversifizieren auf diese Weise ihr Kreditportfolio, das meist auf die Region be­schränkt ist. Hinzu gesellen sich mehr und mehr Versicherungsgesellschaften, Pensionskassen, Sozial­ver­sicherungs­träger sowie internationale Investoren. Vereinzelt steuerten ausländische Anleger zuletzt vor allem bei größeren Schuldscheindarlehen bereits mehr als die Hälfte der Nachfrage bei. Gerade bei Investoren aus Asien stehen deutsche Schuldscheindarlehen ob ihrer Sicherheit derzeit hoch im Kurs.

Die Schuldscheinangebote sind häufig überzeichnet, der Markt bleibt damit weiterhin aufnahmefähig. Die Börsen AG Hamburg-Hannover hat sich auf diese Entwicklung eingestellt und bietet seit März 2017 einen außerbörslichen Sekundärmarkt für Schuldscheindarlehen an.

M&A-Geschäft treibt den Markt

Im Niedrigzinsumfeld sind alle Investoren auf der Suche nach besser verzinsten Anlagen – und dieses kleine bisschen Mehr bei noch überschaubarem Risiko finden sie etwa bei deutschen Schuldscheindarlehen. Unter­nehmen wie POLIFILM wiederum nutzen die gegenwärtig sehr niedrigen Zinsen und Risikoprämien, um sich zu vorteilhaften Konditionen mit Fremdkapital zu versorgen. Häufig, um damit Expansionen und Über­nahmen zu finanzieren.

„Auch gegenüber dem klassischen Konsortialkredit holt das Schuldscheindarlehen immer mehr auf. Das Produkt liegt aktuell einfach im Trend.“

Mark Bussmann, Leiter Treasury & Markets bei der HSH Nordbank

Gleichwohl ist das Schuldscheindarlehen nach den Worten von Mark Bussmann kein so einfaches Produkt wie etwa ein klassischer Kredit. „Wir sind hier vor allem als Berater gefragt“, meint Bussmann. Das unterstreicht auch Walter Hantzsche, der die „verlässlichen Ratgeber und guten Zuhörer aufseiten der HSH Nordbank“ seit Jahren zu schätzen weiß.

Trend zum Schuldschein

Aktivitäten am deutschen Schuldscheinmarkt

Trend zum Schuldschein - Aktivitäten am deutschen Schuldscheinmarkt


Quelle: HSH Nordbank Research

Ein weiteres aktuelles Thema, mit dem sich Bussmanns Team zurzeit im Kundenauftrag befasst, sind kluge Kon­zepte für das aktive Finanzmanagement. „Geld zu Negativ­zinsen bei der Bank zu lagern, kann nicht das Ziel sein“, meint der Experte der HSH Nordbank. Eine mögliche Antwort gegen die Negativ­zins­falle: strukturierte Einlageprodukte, eine Kombination aus kurz- und langfristigem Termingeld, oder auch kluge Konstruktionen aus Put- und Call-Features.