A solid foundation

October 2018 – A continuing positive economic situation, favorable financing conditions and the federal government's newly discovered role in housing construction are driving the German real estate market from one record to the next. But even against this backdrop, not every business plan is a guaranteed success. The thing that counts most is a builder's experience – and a close relationship with their financial backers. This is the case with the Hamburg real estate group TAS KG.

Five years is a long time to wait. But this is a view that's worth waiting for. If everything goes according to plan, the residents of the 350 apartments of all sizes, the approximately 100 subsidized apartments for students, as well as the tenants of the 6,000 square meters of commercial space and the children and educators of the in-house kindergarten will be able to move into to "Kiel Gaarden" in 2023 and enjoy an unrivaled view of the Kieler Förde inlet. Construction on the project is set to begin in late 2019.

With the project's panoramic view of the blue Baltic Sea in Kiel, TAS is more than living up to its own corporate slogan: "Creating value with vision." Founded in Hamburg by Marcus and father Thomas A. Schwarz, the company has been doing just that since 2003. In the meantime, its structure has grown and TAS KG today acts as a common umbrella for an entire group of companies. Over the last few years TAS has grown at a particularly fast clip. The figures since 2012 speak louder than words: 200,000 square meters of developed gross floor area, 130,000 square meters of letting capacity, 45,000 square meters of land under development, 350 million euros in transaction volume.

Versatility as a principle of success

TAS is active throughout Germany as an investor and project developer. Current projects range from the conversion of a former granary in Oranienburg near Berlin into a residential building, to the revitalization of the Allianz House in Hamburg's City Nord, to sophisticated new office buildings such as Quartier 111 in Cologne's Braunsfeld district. Versatility with a simultaneous focus on certain segments of the real estate market is above all the hallmark of TAS. "We build company headquarters, hotels and entire residential districts. With our projects, we strive to create sustainable value by achieving a balance between architectural accomplishment, construction quality, commercial calculation and long-term usability. This is the formula for our successful letting results," is how shareholder Marcus Schwarz sums up TAS’s unique selling proposition.

Despite all the prophecies of doom, the German real estate market remains balanced. Exactly ten years after the outbreak of the financial crisis, confidence in the industry is high. This is confirmed by the mood barometer published by the organizers of the leading EXPO REAL trade fair in Munich. The fair's organizers surveyed almost 1,400 real estate professionals on the state of the industry. "65.9 percent of respondents expect the situation to remain positive in 2018 and 2019. 62 percent believe that the sums invested in German real estate will increase," says Klaus Dittrich, CEO of Messe München.

„65.9 percent of respondents expect the situation to remain positive in 2018 and 2019. 62 percent believe that the sums invested in German real estate will increase.“

Klaus Dittrich, CEO of Messe München

Nevertheless – and this is the hallmark of mature, successful markets – momentum in some areas is declining while risks are increasing. This is illustrated by the latest figures from the independent market analysts at bulwiengesa AG in Frankfurt. According to their 2018 project development study, "whereas last year saw an additional increase in real estate developments, current analysis clearly indicates that the market is stagnating."

Project developer market comes to a halt

Area volume in trading development of German A-cities 2008 to 2018 in million square meters

Area volume in trading development of German A-cities 2008 to 2018 in million square meters comes to a halt


Source: "Project development study 2018," bulwiengesa AG

But a closer examination of bulwiengesa's findings reveals very distinct trends in individual regions and cities. It quickly becomes clear that there is no ONE single real estate market. Everything depends on the niche and thus also on the niche competence of a developer. The TAS Group, for example, has been focusing on the hotel market for some time now. And for good reason, as the statisticians at bulwiengesa confirm: According to their 2018 project development study, project volume in the hotel segment is growing for the third year in a row.

„We proceed with caution, particularly in an increasingly mature market – at the same time, we ensure a balanced mix in our loan portfolio.“

Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients at HSH Nordbank AG

Booming hotel market

TAS specializes in hotels. One of its latest projects is the construction of a landmark new Holiday Inn Business Hotel in the City Nord district of Hamburg. The 60-meter-high, 19-floor hotel is being built on the site of the former BP headquarters.

According to EXPO REAL, the total investment volume of Germany's hotel industry is currently 1.9 billion euros: "The reasons for this are brisk construction activity, expansion and new hotel brands where domestic and foreign buyers balance each other out." But another reason is the booming tourism in Germany's cities, now in its ninth record year in a row. In the first half of 2018, the number of overnight stays by domestic and foreign guests rose by four percent to 214 million, according to calculations by the Federal Statistical Office. "Germany has never been more attractive as a travel destination and a convention and conference location," says Guido Zöllick, President of the German Hotel and Restaurant Association.

Whether it's for hotel projects like the one in City Nord or stylish digital concepts for the future like on the waterfront of Kiel, ambitious real estate projects require capital – and a financier who can provide expert advice in a challenging market environment. Managing Director Marcus Schwarz values trustworthy cooperation, specifically when it comes to choosing a financing bank: "We can rely one hundred percent on HSH Nordbank. Not only do our contacts have excellent expertise, they also fit in well with our company and our values."

Significant interest in niche segments

Types of use for which real estate professionals in Germany expect an increase in 2018/2019

Significant interest in niche segments: Types of use for which real estate professionals in Germany expect an increase in 2018/2019


Source: EXPO REAL, Trend indicator 2018, 1,380 exhibition visitors, inquiry in July 2018

During the ambitious new building project at Überseering 2 in City Nord, cooperation between TAS and HSH Nordbank was completely seamless. The task was enormous: German telecommunications giant Deutsche Telekom moved in as a tenant with 2,150 employees – a clear signal of its commitment to Hamburg as a business location. The nine-story office tower was completed on schedule after a construction period of only 15 months. Construction was financed by HSH Nordbank. "We accompanied this project from start to finish," says Relationship Manager Thomas Wente, who has worked with TAS for years. HSH Nordbank is one of Germany's most important real estate financiers. "We listen to our customers concerns, understand their business plans and work with them to develop individual solutions, from classic mortgage loans to complex structured financing," says Peter Axmann, Head of Real Estate Clients. Of course, this also includes knowing the risks and keeping them under control. "We proceed with caution, particularly in an increasingly mature market – at the same time, we ensure a balanced mix in our loan portfolio. Residential real estate, offices and retail properties are all part of our portfolio," says Axmann.

Awarded project

Immobilienmanager Award 2018
The award since 2009 annually honors the best real estate projects, deals, services and heads of the real estate business in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. A jury cast with renownend representatives from the real estate sector chooses the winners in 14 categories. The project Woodies, the dormitory built in a modular wooden concept in Hamburg Wilhelmsburg this year received one of the coveted awards.

Wohnbau Preis Hamburg 2017
The quality of living decisively determines the identity of a city. Therefore, the Architektur Centrum honors projects with a special architectural or design quality with the Wohnbau Preis Hamburg. Patron is Dr. Dorothee Stapelfeld, Senator for Urban Development and Housing. The dorm Woodie was awarded first prize.

Tragendes Fundament

Oktober 2018 – Die anhaltend gute Konjunktur, die günstigen Finanzierungskonditionen und die neuentdeckte Rolle des Staats im Wohnungsbau treiben den deutschen Immobilienmarkt von einem Rekord zum nächsten. Doch selbst vor diesem Hintergrund ist nicht jeder Business Plan automatisch ein Selbstläufer. Was vor allem zählt, ist die Erfahrung des Bauherrn – und ein enges Verhältnis zu dessen Finanzierer. So wie im Fall der Hamburger Immobiliengruppe TAS KG.

Fünf Jahre können mitunter lang sein. Aber für diesen Ausblick lohnt das Warten. Wenn alles glatt läuft, können im Jahr 2023 die Bewohner der 350 Wohnungen aller Größen, der rund 100 geförderten Studentenapartments, aber auch die Mieter der 6.000 Quadratmeter Gewerbeflächen sowie die Kinder und Erzieherinnen und Erzieher der hauseigenen Kita einen unvergleichlichen Blick auf die Kieler Förde werfen. Baubeginn für das Projekt „Kiel Gaarden“ ist voraussichtlich Ende 2019.

Den eigenen Unternehmensslogan erfüllt TAS in Kiel, mit dem Panoramablick auf das Blau der Ostsee, zu 100 Prozent: „Mit Weitblick Werte schaffen“. Das tut das von Marcus und Vater Thomas A. Schwarz in Hamburg gegründete Unternehmen seit 2003. Innerhalb der gewachsenen Unternehmensstruktur agiert die TAS KG heute als gemeinsames Dach für die gesamte Unternehmensgruppe. Besonders in den vergangenen Jahren ist TAS rasant gewachsen. Die Zahlen seit 2012 sagen mehr als viele Worte: 200.000 Quadratmeter entwickelte Bruttogeschossfläche, 130.000 Quadratmeter Vermietungsleistung, 45.000 Quadratmeter Grundstücksfläche in Entwicklung, 350 Millionen Euro Transaktionsvolumen.

Vielseitigkeit als Erfolgsprinzip

Im gesamten Bundesgebiet ist TAS als Investor und Projektentwickler aktiv. Aktuelle Projekte reichen von der Umwidmung eines früheren Getreidespeichers in Oranienburg bei Berlin als Wohnhaus über die Revitalisierung des Allianz Hauses in der Hamburger City Nord bis hin zu anspruchsvollen Büroneubauten wie dem Quartier 111 im Kölner Stadtteil Braunsfeld. Vor allem die Vielseitigkeit bei gleichzeitiger Fokussierung auf bestimmte Segmente des Immobilienmarkts ist das Kennzeichen von TAS: „ Wir realisieren Unternehmenszentralen, Hotels und ganze Wohnquartiere. Hierbei streben unsere Projekte im Gleichgewicht zwischen architektonischen Anspruch, bautechnischer Qualität, kaufmännischem Kalkül und langfristiger Nutz­bar­keit eine Werthaltigkeit an, die Grundlage für unsere erfolgreichen Vermietungsergebnisse ist“, bringt Gesellschafter Marcus Schwarz den USP der Unternehmensgruppe auf den Punkt.

Im Gleichgewicht befindet sich, allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz, auch noch der deutsche Immobilienmarkt. Die Stimmung in der Branche ist exakt zehn Jahre nach Ausbruch der Finanzkrise gut, die Zuversicht hoch. Das bestätigt das Stimmungsbarometer, das die Veranstalter der Leitmesse EXPO REAL veröffentlicht haben. Dafür befragten die Münchener Messeverantwortlichen fast 1.400 Immobilienprofis. „65,9 Prozent der Befragten gehen für 2018 und 2019 von weiterhin positiven Verhältnissen aus. 62 Prozent sind der Meinung, dass die Investmentsummen in Immobilien in Deutschland steigen werden“, sagt Klaus Dittrich, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Messe München.

„65,9 Prozent der Befragten gehen für 2018 und 2019 von weiterhin positiven Verhältnissen aus. 62 Prozent sind der Meinung, dass die Investmentsummen in Immobilien in Deutschland steigen werden.“

Klaus Dittrich, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Messe München

Gleichwohl – und das ist das Markenzeichen reifer, erfolgreicher Märkte – lässt hier und da die Dynamik nach, während die Risiken wachsen. Das zeigen die jüngsten Zahlen der unabhängigen Marktanalysten der bulwiengesa AG. „War im letzten Jahr noch einmal ein Anstieg der Projektentwicklerflächen zu registrieren, so wird in der aktuellen Analyse deutlich: Der Markt stagniert“, heißt es in der „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“ der Frankfurter Marktauguren.

Projektentwicklermarkt kommt ins Stocken

Flächenvolumen im Trading-Development deutscher A-Städte 2008 bis 2018 in Millionen Quadratmeter

Flächenvolumen im Trading-Development deutscher A-Städte 2008 bis 2018 in Millionen Quadratmeter kommt ins Stocken


Quelle: „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“, bulwiengesa AG

Wer sich genauer mit einzelnen Regionen und Städten beschäftigt, liest aus den Zahlen von bulwiengesa aber sehr verschiedene Trends heraus. Schnell wird klar: DEN Immobilienmarkt gibt es nicht. Es kommt auf die Nische und damit auch auf die Nischenkompetenz eines Entwicklers an. Die TAS Unternehmensgruppe beispielsweise setzt seit Längerem auf den Hotelmarkt. Und das aus guten Gründen, wie die Statistiker von bulwiengesa bestätigen: Laut ihrer „Projektentwicklerstudie 2018“ wächst das Projektvolumen im Hotelsegment bereits das dritte Jahr in Folge.

„Besonders in einem reifer werdenden Markt schauen wir nochmal genauer hin. Gleichzeitig achten wir im Kreditbestand auf einen ausgewogenen Mix. “

Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden der HSH Nordbank AG

Boombranche Hotelmarkt

Nach Angaben der EXPO REAL beträgt das gesamte Investmentvolumen der Hotelbranche in Deutschland derzeit 1,9 Milliarden Euro. „Grund dafür sind rege Bautätigkeiten, Expansionen und neue Hotelmarken, bei denen sich in- und ausländische Käufer die Waage halten“, heißt es in einer Analyse. Grund dafür sind aber auch die boomenden Zahlen beim (Städte-)Tourismus: Das Reiseziel Deutschland steuert auf sein neuntes Rekordjahr in Folge zu. Im ersten Halbjahr 2018 stieg die Zahl der Übernachtungen in- und ausländischer Gäste um vier Prozent auf 214 Millionen, ergaben Berechnungen des Statistischen Bundesamtes. „Nie war Deutschland als Reiseland sowie Kongress- und Tagungsstandort attraktiver“, freut sich Guido Zöllick, Präsident des Deutschen Hotel- und Gaststättenverbandes.

TAS hat sich auf Hotels spezialisiert, eines der jüngsten Projekte der Hamburger ist der Neubau des Holiday-Inn Business Hotels als neues Wahrzeichen für die City Nord in der Hansestadt. Mit seinen 60 Metern und 19 Stockwerken wird das Hotel auf dem Grundstück der ehemaligen BP-Zentrale errichtet.

Ob attraktives Hotelprojekt wie in der City Nord oder stylish-digitale Wohnformen der Zukunft wie an der Kieler Wasserfront: Für ambitionierte Immobilienprojekte braucht es Kapital – und einen Geldgeber, der im herausfordernden Marktumfeld auch kundiger Ratgeber sein kann. Gerade bei der Auswahl der finanzierenden Banken ist Geschäftsführer Marcus Schwarz eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit wichtig: „Wir können uns auf die HSH Nordbank hundertprozentig verlassen. Unsere Ansprechpartner verfügen nicht nur über eine ausgezeichnete Expertise, sondern passen auch menschlich gut zu unserem Unternehmen und unseren Werten.“

Grosses Interesse an Nischensegmenten

Nutzungsarten, für die Immobilienprofis in Deutschland 2018/2019 einen Bedeutungszuwachs erwarten

Großes Interesse an Nischensegmenten: Nutzungsarten, für die Immobilienprofis in Deutschland 2018/2019 einen Bedeutungszuwachs erwarten


Quelle: EXPO REAL, Stimmungsbarometer 2018, 1.380 Messeteilnehmer, Erhebung im Juli 2018

Besonders beim komplexen Neubau am Überseering 2 in der City Nord lief die Zusammenarbeit zwischen TAS und der HSH Nordbank damit auch vollkommen geräuschlos. Dabei war die Aufgabe gewaltig: Kein Geringerer als die Deutsche Telekom zog dort mit 2.150 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern als Mieterin ein – und gab damit zugleich ein klares Bekenntnis zum Wirtschaftsstandort Hamburg ab. Der neunstöckige Büroturm wurde nach nur 15 Monaten Bauzeit termingerecht fertig. Finanziert hat den Neubau die HSH Nordbank. „Wir haben dieses Projekt vom Anfang bis zur Fertigstellung begleitet“, sagt Relationship-Manager Thomas Wente, der das Immobilienunternehmen seit Jahren betreut. Die HSH Nordbank zählt zu den bedeutendsten Immobilienfinanzierern in Deutschland. „Wir haben ein offenes Ohr für unsere Kunden, verstehen ihre Businesspläne und erarbeiten gemeinsam individuelle Lösungen – vom klassischen Hypothekendarlehen bis zur komplexen strukturierten Finanzierung“, sagt Peter Axmann, Leiter Immobilienkunden. Dazu gehört es selbstverständlich auch, die Risiken zu kennen und im Griff zu behalten. „Besonders in einem reifer werdenden Markt schauen wir nochmal genauer hin. Gleichzeitig achten wir im Kreditbestand auf einen ausgewogenen Mix. So finden sich Wohnimmobilien, Büros und Einzelhandelsobjekte gleichermaßen in unserem Portfolio“, sagt Axmann.

Studentenwohnheim "Woodie" – Ausgezeichnetes Projekt

Immobilienmanager Award 2018
Der Award prämiert seit 2009 jährlich die bes­ten Immobilienprojekte, Deals, Dienst­leis­tungen und Köpfe der Immo­bi­lien­wirt­schaft in Deutsch­land, Öster­reich und der Schweiz. Eine Jury, besetzt mit re­nom­mier­ten Ver­tretern der Immobilien­branche, wählt die Sie­ger in ins­ge­samt 14 Kategorien aus. Das Projekt Woodies, das Stu­den­ten­appart­ment­haus in modularer Bauweise in Ham­burg Wil­helms­burg erhielt in diesem Jahr eine der be­gehr­ten Aus­zeich­nungen.

Wohnbau Preis Hamburg 2017
Die Qualität des Wohnens bestimmt maß­geb­lich die Iden­ti­tät einer Stadt. Daher zeichnet das Architektur Centrum Projekte mit einer besonderen baulichen und gestalterischen Qualität mit dem WohnbauPreis Hamburg aus. Prämiert werden Woh­nungs­bauten, die in den ver­gangenen vier Jahren im Großraum Ham­burg realisiert wurden. Schirm­herrin ist Dr. Dorothee Stapelfeldt, Senatorin für Stadt­ent­wicklung und Wohnen Hamburg. Das Stu­den­ten­wohn­heim Woodie wurde mit einem 1.Preis ausgezeichnet.