Much is New in Trade

Hamburg is Germany's commercial metropolis. For this to remain the case in the disruptive age of globalization and digitalization, established trading companies must continue to develop. The crucial impetus for this process is provided by start-ups. With the founding of the Next Commerce Accelerator, HSH Nordbank and their partners now want to help support the digital change in commerce. The joint venture brings together start-ups, established businesses and experts, to the benefit of the participants and the site Hamburg.

At some 110 billion euros, Hamburg's "Gross Domestic Product"– the sum of all goods and services produced there – is more significant than that of whole countries like Serbia or Croatia. Above all, the major trading companies steeped in history, such as Edeka, Otto, Helm, Cremer, Tchibo and Hawesko, have made the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg economically strong and significant, and they continue to shape it.

Besonders für Handelsunternehmen gilt Heraklits Sinnspruch: „Beständig ist nur der Wandel.“
Heraclitus' aphorism bears particular relevance for commercial enterprises in the disruptive age of globalization and digitalization: "The only constant is change."

However, this justifiably satisfied glance in the rear-view mirror of economic history should not draw attention away from the future. Heraclitus' aphorism bears particular relevance for commercial enterprises: "The only constant is change." New competitors, domestic and foreign – usually digital speedboats with clever heads on board, breathtaking technology, plenty of daring and low-cost structures – are turning up in the waterways of the great trading tankers. Is there a threat of collision?

Not if it is up to HSH Nordbank. They and their partners in the freshly launched project Next Commerce Accelerator (NCA) are geared towards cooperation rather than confrontation. Senator for Economy Frank Horch also sees great potential in the Accelerator concept. "Hamburg is the ideal location for the topic of e-commerce. Here, around 10,000 commercial enterprises encounter market leading service providers like SinnerSchrader, pilot, PublicisPixelpark and Novomind. This, in addition to a dynamic start-up ecosystem with more than 1000 firms being founded per year in the field of IT and e-commerce."

Digital Transformation - how prepared do companies feel?

Initial question: How far does the statement "We feel set for the transformation." apply for your company?

Only about a third of businesses consider themselves well-equipped

Source: Bundesdruckerei GmbH/Bitkom Research, 2016

In the Fast Lane

The NCA supports future start-ups and founder-teams from throughout Europe in the development of digital, innovative e-commerce business models.
The NCA supports future start-ups and founder-teams from throughout Europe in the development of digital, innovative e-commerce business models.

In order to increase these numbers, HSH Nordbank and Hamburger Sparkasse (Haspa) have created the NCA: a start-up accelerator for innovative business models. The NCA supports future start-ups and founder-teams from throughout Europe in the development of digital, innovative e-commerce business models. "Alongside equity capital from through to 50,000 Euros, the project offers access to potential clients and business partners, a customized training and coaching program and attractive premises in co-working spaces", explains Patrick Miljes. HSH Nordbank's Division Manager for Corporate Clients is one the of key initiators of the project.

„Alongside equity capital from through to 50,000 Euros, the NCA offers access to potential clients and business partners, a customized training and coaching program and attractive premises in co-working spaces.“

Patrick Miljes, Division Manager for Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank AG

Patrick Miljes, Division Manager for Corporate Clients
Patrick Miljes, Division Manager for Corporate Clients

In return for help in the early stages of their enterprise, the start-ups give between three and ten percent of the company's shares over to the NCA-shareholders. The new partners also come closer geographically. "The start-ups transfer their major professional activities to Hamburg for a minimum of six months to really expedite the growth of their business there under ideal conditions," says Miljes. "Our goal is for the majority of the young firms to then take up permanent residence in Hamburg– in line with the motto 'Here to stay'." Those who wish may spend an additional month as a young founder at a partner accelerator in Shanghai.

Sectors with the most focus on and investments in digitalization

Industries with the highest investment in digitalization

Source: KPMG Global Pulse Insights Survey - Q2/2016

A Wealth of Use Cases

Currently, the management team and a group of ten investors have been assembled for the accelerator. "We are reaching out to established, resident businesses in Hamburg that want to cooperate with the participating start-ups and open up market access for them. "The trading companies profit from the know-how of the young enterprises and receive new stimulation for their own business", said Miljes, describing the win-win idea behind the project NCA. "Where else can you obtain presentations of 350 to 500 use cases for your own company“, asks the Division Manager for Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank.

„Where else can you obtain presentations of 350 to 500 use cases for your own company?“

Patrick Miljes, Division Manager for Corporate Clients at HSH Nordbank AG

The coaching of the young companies is being undertaken by a mentor group of around 200 people, made up of entrepreneurs, specialists and representatives from large businesses. The first "class" with five start-ups is due start in Hamburg in just a few months. A new class then will follow every year. The creator's long-term goal: "We want to rise a position among the top three accelerators in the area of e-commerce in Europe and bring the continent's best start-ups to Hamburg", states Miljes, outlining the goal.

Our competencies - Strong for entrepreneurs

Big and small, young and old, start-ups and investors will profit from one another in equal measure. "With more than 5,000 commercial clients combined, Haspa and HSH Nordbank are ideal shareholders", maintains Bodo Kräter from Skillnet. The consultancy is supporting the shareholders during the development of the NCA. With the development of the "Next Media Accelerator" from the German Press Agency (DPA), likewise supported by Skillnet, millions in follow-on financing from European and American investors has already been realized.

New stimulation for the own business
New stimulation for the own business

The participating banks also profit. First of all, by helping their long-time client businesses become better suited for the digital future – and thus to benefit from the intensification of the client relationship. Secondly, they themselves receive stimulation for new products and offers. "The financing business is also rapidly changing in the digital age", Miljes stresses. As machines and warehouses as classic securities are increasingly being replaced by software which is difficult to lend and clever ideas, the credit business, for example, is facing a fundamental change. Examples include financial models such as pay-as-you-earn, with which repayment becomes less certain: revenue from leasing goods, for example, accrues only if revenue is generated from the object itself. "This innovative form of financing necessitates new thinking from businesses such as banks, above all with regards to risk management. Shrewd start-ups can definitely help us here too." Miljes is already looking forward to the exchange with future founders and new Hamburg residents.

Viel Neues im Handel

Hamburg ist die deutsche Handels­me­tro­pole. Damit das in den disruptiven Zeiten von Di­gi­ta­li­sie­rung und Glo­ba­li­sie­rung so bleibt, sollten sich alt­ein­ge­sessene Handels­häuser weiter­ent­wick­eln. Wichtige Impulse dafür liefern Start-ups. Mit der Grün­dung des Next Com­merce Ac­ce­le­ra­tor wollen die HSH Nord­bank und ihre Partner jetzt dabei helfen, den di­gi­ta­len Wan­del im Han­del zu unterstützen. Das Joint-Venture führt Start-ups, etablierte Un­ter­nehmen und Ex­per­ten zusammen – zum Wohle der Beteiligten und des Standorts Hamburg.

Mit gut 110 Milliarden Euro ist das „Brutto­in­lands­produkt“ Hamburgs – also die Summe aller dort hergestellten Pro­dukte und Dienst­leistungen – weit bedeutsamer als das gan­zer Staaten wie Serbien oder Kroatien. Vor allem die gro­ßen, ge­schichts­träch­tig­en Handels­häuser wie Edeka, Otto, Helm, Cremer, Tchibo oder Hawesko haben die Freie und Hanse­stadt Ham­burg wirt­schaft­lich stark und be­deutend ge­macht und prägen sie. „HH“ könnte daher getrost auch mit „Handels­stadt Ham­burg“ übersetzt werden.

Besonders für Handelsunternehmen gilt Heraklits Sinnspruch: „Beständig ist nur der Wandel.“
In den disruptiven Zeiten von Di­gi­ta­li­sie­rung und Globalisierung gilt Heraklits Sinnspruch für Handels­unter­neh­men besonders: „Beständig ist nur der Wandel.“

Der mit Recht zufriedene Blick in den Rück­spiegel der Wirt­schafts­ge­schich­te sollte nicht dazu verleiten, das Au­gen­merk auf die Zu­kunft zu ver­nach­läs­sigen. Besonders für Han­dels­un­ter­neh­men gilt Heraklits Sinn­spruch: „Be­stän­dig ist nur der Wandel.“ Neue Wett­be­wer­ber aus dem In- und Ausland – meist digitale Schnell­boote mit klugen Köpfen an Bord, atem­be­raubender Technik, viel Wage­mut und nied­rigen Kosten­struk­turen – geraten ins Fahr­was­ser der gro­ßen Handels­tanker. Droht die Kollision?

Nicht, wenn es nach der HSH Nord­bank geht. Sie und ihre Partner beim frisch ge­star­teten Projekt Next Com­merce Ac­ce­le­rator (NCA) setzen auf Kooperation statt Kon­fron­ta­tion. Auch Wirtschafts­senator Frank Horch sieht im Ac­ce­le­rator-Ansatz große Po­ten­ziale. „Hamburg ist für das Thema E-Commerce der ideale Stand­ort. Hier treffen rund 10.000 Handels­unter­neh­men auf markt­führende Dienst­leis­ter wie SinnerSchrader, pilot, Publicis­Pixelpark und Novomind. Hin­zu kommt ein dynamisches Start-up-Öko­sys­tem mit jährlich mehr als 1.000 Grün­dung­en im IT- und E-Com­merce-Umfeld.“

Digitale Transformation - Wie fit fühlen sich Unternehmen?

Ausgangsfrage: Inwieweit trifft die Aus­sage: "Wir fühlen uns gut gerüstet für die Transformation." für Ihr Un­ter­nehmen zu?

Nur knapp jesdes dritte Unternehmen fühlt sich gut gerüstet.

Quelle: Bundesdruckerei GmbH/Bitkom Research, 2016

Auf der Überholspur

Der NCA unterstützt künftig Start-ups und Gründerteams aus ganz Europa bei der Entwicklung digitaler, innovativer E-Commerce-Geschäftsmodelle.
Der NCA unterstützt künftig Start-ups und Grün­der­teams aus ganz Europa bei der Ent­wick­lung digitaler, innovativer E-Com­merce-Ge­schäfts­modelle.

Um deren Zahl weiter zu steigern, ha­ben die HSH Nord­bank und die Ham­burger Spar­kasse (Haspa) den NCA ins Leben gerufen: einen Start-up-Be­schleu­niger für inno­vative Ge­schäfts­modelle. Der NCA unterstützt künftig Start-ups und Grün­der­teams aus ganz Europa bei der Ent­wick­lung digitaler, innovativer E-Commerce-Ge­schäfts­modelle. „Er bietet neben Be­tei­li­gungs­kapital von bis zu 50.000 Euro Zu­gang zu po­ten­ziellen Kunden und Geschäfts­partnern, ein maß­ge­schnei­dertes Trai­nings- und Coaching­pro­gramm sowie attraktive Räum­lich­keiten in Co-Working-Spaces“, sagt Patrick Miljes. Der Bereichs­leiter Unter­nehmens­kun­den der HSH Nord­bank ist einer der wesentlichen In­i­ti­a­toren des Projekts.

„Der NCA bietet neben Be­tei­li­gungs­kapital von bis zu 50.000 Euro Zu­gang zu po­ten­zi­ellen Kunden und Ge­schäfts­partnern, ein mass­ge­schneidertes Trainings- und Coach­ing­programm sowie attraktive Räum­lich­keiten in Co-Working-Spaces.“

Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden der HSH Nord­bank AG

Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden
Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden

Als Gegenleistung für die Hilfe in der Früh­phase ihres Un­ter­nehmer­tums geben die Start-ups Unter­nehmens­an­teile zwischen drei und zehn Prozent an die NCA-Ge­sell­schaf­ter ab. Auch räumlich kommen sich die neuen Partner näher. „Die Start-ups verlegen ihren Arbeits­schwer­punkt für mindestens sechs Monate nach Ham­burg, um dort unter Ideal­be­din­gung­en ihr Unternehmenswachstum voran­zu­trei­ben“, sagt Miljes. „Unser Ziel ist es, dass der Großteil der jungen Firmen dann dau­er­haft in Hamburg sesshaft wird – frei nach dem Motto ,Gekommen, um zu blei­ben’.“ Wer mag, kann als junger Gründer zusätzlich einen wei­te­ren Monat bei einem Partner-Accelerator in Schang­hai verbringen.

Branchen mit dem grössten Schwerpunkt und höchsten Investitionsanteil in Digitalisierung

Digitalisierungsinvestitionen nach Branchen

Quelle: KPMG Global Pulse Insights Survey - Q2/2016

Eine Fülle an Use Cases

Derzeit werden das Managementteam und eine Gruppe von zehn Investoren für den Accelerator zusam­men­ge­stellt. „Wir sprechen dabei etablierte, ansässige Unter­neh­men an, die mit den teil­nehm­en­den Start-ups ko­ope­rie­ren und ihnen Markt­zu­gänge schaffen wollen. Die Handels­häuser profitieren vom Know-how der jungen Firmen und be­kom­men so frische Impulse für ihr eigenes Business“, be­schreibt Miljes die Idee des Win-win hinter dem Projekt NCA. „Wo bekommen Sie sonst schon 350 bis 500 Use Cases für Ihr eigenes Unter­nehmen präsentiert?“, fragt der Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden der HSH Nordbank.

„Wo bekommen Sie sonst schon 350 bis 500 Use Cases für Ihr eigenes Unternehmen präsentiert?“

Patrick Miljes, Bereichsleiter Unternehmenskunden der HSH Nord­bank AG

Das Coaching der Jungfirmen über­nimmt eine rund 200-köpfige Men­toren­gruppe mit Unter­neh­mern, Spe­zi­a­lis­ten und Vertretern von Groß­unter­neh­men. Die erste „Klasse“ mit fünf Start-ups soll in wenigen Monaten in Ham­burg starten. Jährlich soll dann jeweils eine weitere Klasse folgen. Langfristiges Ziel der Macher: „Wir wollen unter die Top drei der Accelatoren im Bereich E-Commerce in Eu­ro­pa auf­stei­gen und die besten Start-ups des Kontinents nach Ham­burg holen“, nennt Miljes das Ziel.

Der Bereich Unter­nehmens­kunden der HSH Nord­bank

Vom Miteinander von Groß und Klein, Jung und Alt wer­den Start-ups und In­ves­to­ren gleichermaßen profitieren. „Die Haspa und die HSH Nordbank sind mit ihren zu­sam­men mehr als 5.000 Handels­kun­den ideale Ge­sell­schaf­ter“, betont Bodo Krä­ter von Skill­net. Die Unter­neh­mens­be­ra­tung unterstützt die Gesellschafter beim Aufbau des NCA. Mit dem ebenfalls von Skillnet unterstützen Aufbau des „Next Media Accelerator“ der Deut­schen Presse­agen­tur (dpa) wurden bereits mehrere Fol­ge­fi­nan­zie­rungen zum Teil im Millionen­bereich von eu­ro­pä­isch­en und US-ame­ri­ka­nischen Investoren realisiert.

Frische Impulse für das eigene Business
Frische Impulse für das eigene Business

Auch die beteiligten Bankhäuser pro­fi­tieren. Zum einen, indem sie ihre lang­jäh­rigen Fir­men­kun­den dabei un­ter­stüt­zen, noch fitter für die digitale Zukunft zu werden – und so die Kun­den­be­ziehung in­ten­si­vieren. Zum anderen, indem sie selbst Impulse bekommen für neue Produkte und An­ge­bote. „Auch das Fi­nan­zie­rungs­ge­schäft wandelt sich im digitalen Zeit­alter rasant“, betont Miljes. Weil immer häu­figer Maschinen und Lager­hallen als klas­sische Sicherheiten durch schwer be­leih­bare Software und kluge Ideen ersetzt werden, steht etwa das Kreditgeschäft vor einem fun­da­men­talen Wandel. Beispiele sind Fi­nan­zie­rungs­mo­delle wie Pay-as-you-earn, bei denen das Re­pay­ment unsicherer wird: Erträge etwa für Lea­sing­güter fallen nur an, wenn auch Erträge aus dem Objekt erwirtschaftet werden. „Diese innovativen Formen der Fi­nan­zie­rung­en erfordern von Un­ter­neh­men wie Banken neues Denken, vor allem be­züg­lich der Risiko­steuerung. Auch hier können uns pfiffige Start-ups sicher unterstützen“, freut sich Miljes bereits auf den Aus­tausch mit den künftigen Gründern und Neu-Ham­burgern.