Future instant payments

January 2018 – Standardised legal framework for instant payments (ip) since November 2017. Retail can benefit from ip. HSH Nordbank will offer solutions in good time.

With instant payments, funds can arrive in the account of the recipient within 10 seconds. Payments can be made via online baking or a smartphone app. The Deutsche Bundesbank believes that these kinds of real-time transactions will soon be routine in Europe. Executive board member of the Deutsche Bundesbank Carl-Ludwig Thiele estimates that the service will hit the market by 2019, and will then gradually go on to become a standard procedure. “At first instant payments will be of interest primarily for individuals, but businesses that provide products and services directly to customers and/or have online stores will increasingly notice its influence on consumer behaviour and business models” says Yoram Matalon, head of transaction banking at HSH Nordbank. For the credit card industry however, the rise of instant payments represents a serious challenge, since they pose a threat to the need for credit cards at the point of sale.

“The idea that in the future a retailer will be able to accept real-time payments from a customer and have the funds available immediately is electrifying.”

Yoram Matalon, Head of Transaction Banking at HSH Nordbank

Instant Payment

From November 2017, these new instant payments will be subject to a standardised legal framework, and the first providers are already up and running. “Retail in particular can benefit greatly from instant payments”, says Matalon. “The idea that in the future a retailer will be able to accept real-time payments from a customer and have the funds available immediately is electrifying.” The banks are laying the groundwork for this by providing the infrastructure necessary for instant payments.

At the moment, instant payment transfers are limited to 15,000 euros. “But this is just the beginning, these amounts will rise,” says Matalon. The banking sector is open to this new technology. “Everyone has recognised the potential of instant payments, which have a whole range of applications. For example, logistics providers and shipping services can receive payment upon delivery within 10 seconds,” says Matalon. As the number of players betting on instant payments grows, the lack of market penetration will become less of an issue. “We are expecting the entire Sparkassen Finance Group to be on board by July 2018”, says Nico Frommholz, head of cash management at HSH Nordbank. According to Frommholz, we could see market coverage of 85 to 90 per cent by the end of 2019. In Europe, the pioneers in terms of instant payments are all in Scandinavia. “Peer-to-peer payments from smartphone to smartphone are particularly popular in these countries, where they are increasingly replacing cash,” says Frommholz.

Instant payment: a fertile ground for new business models

Fertile Ground for New Business Models

After coming up with paydirekt as an answer to online payment services like PayPal, the banking sector is now meeting the wishes of regulators with the instant payments system. The expected establishment of instant payment provides fertile ground for new business models, which are often developed by FinTech companies. All the more reason for increased collaborations between the banks and FinTech. The fact that in recent months several payment providers have changed hands for large sums of money is an

indicator of just how attractive this market is at the moment. Working committees from the German Trade association (HDE) are currently discussing how retail can gain access to this market, and HSH Nordbank is part of the conversation. “As a bank for entrepreneurs, we will provide our clients with appropriate solutions in good time,” says Matalon. However, before instant payments become relevant for business clients, the system has to be operational across the board. Financial service providers are looking at considerable investments here, in part because instant payment technology has to be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Another problem is that in Germany, the NFC channel for transmitting the retailer’s payment details to the customer’s smartphone has not yet been enabled for Apple devices. “Despite newer iPhones already being equipped with the necessary NFC chip, the Apple community has to use a QR code to make instant payments. Solutions for this will have to be developed at the point of sale,” says Frommholz.

Zukunft Instant Payment

Januar 2018 – Einheitlicher Rechtsrahmen für Instant Payment (IP) seit November 2017. Handel kann von IP profitieren. HSH Nordbank bietet künftig Lösungen für Kunden.

Ein Überweisungsbetrag wird innerhalb von zehn Sekunden dem Konto des Empfängers gutgeschrieben – das ermöglicht Instant Payment (IP). Der Auftrag kann dabei per Online-Banking oder mit einer Smartphone-App erfolgen. Nach Einschätzung der Bundesbank werden solche Echtzeitzahlungen in Europa bald Alltag sein. Bundesbank-Vorstand Carl-Ludwig Thiele geht davon aus, dass bis 2019 der Markt mit dem Service versorgt wird, der sich dann schrittweise zum Standard entwickeln kann. „Instant Payment wird zunächst vor allem für Privatkunden interessant, aber auch Unternehmen mit Privatkunden – und/oder Onlinegeschäft werden mit zunehmender Verbreitung den Einfluss auf Verbraucherverhalten und Geschäftsmodelle spüren“, sagt Yoram Matalon, Leiter Transaction Banking bei der HSH Nordbank. Für die Kreditkartenbranche dagegen sei ein Erfolg von Instant Payment eine ernste Herausforderung, denn deren Rolle als Intermediär am Point of Sale ist bei Instant Payments bedroht.

„Die Vorstellung, dass ein Dienstleister künftig in Echtzeit Zahlungen von einem Kunden annehmen und darüber verfügen kann, ist elektrisierend.“

Yoram Matalon, Leiter Transaction Banking bei der HSH Nordbank

Instant Payment

Für die neuen Echtzeitüberweisungen gilt ab November 2017 ein einheitlicher Rechtsrahmen und die ersten Anbieter sind bereits operativ am Markt. „Besonders der Handel kann von Instant Payment stark profitieren“, sagt Matalon. „Die Vorstellung, dass ein Dienstleister künftig in Echtzeit Zahlungen von einem Kunden annehmen und darüber verfügen kann, ist elektrisierend.“ Die Banken schaffen dafür die Voraussetzungen, indem sie die Infrastruktur zur Buchung der Echtzeitzahlungen bereitstellen.

Derzeit sind IP-Überweisungen noch auf 15.000 Euro beschränkt. „Dies ist aber erst der Anfang, diese Summen werden sich steigern“, sagt Matalon. Die Bankenbranche sei für die neue Technologie offen: „Alle haben die Möglichkeiten von IP erkannt, die für ganz verschiedene Use Cases einsetzbar sind, z.B. für Logistik- und Versanddienstleister, die Zug-um-Zug bei Übergabe der Ware an den Kunden Zahlungen innerhalb von 10 Sekunden gutgeschrieben bekommen können.“, so Matalon. Das Problem der fehlenden Marktdurchdringung stelle sich umso weniger, je mehr Player auf IP setzen. „Wir rechnen damit, dass im Juli 2018 auch die gesamte Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe bei IP an Bord ist“, sagt Nico Frommholz, Leiter Cash Management bei der HSH Nordbank. Eine Abdeckung von 85 bis 90 Prozent sei bis Ende 2019 durchaus erreichbar. In Europa seien die Vorreiter in Sachen IP in Skandinavien zu finden. „Besonders die Peer-to-Peer-Zahlungen von Smartphone zu Smartphone sind in diesen Ländern sehr beliebt und verdrängen zunehmend das Bargeld,“ sagt Frommholz.

Instant Payment als guter Nährboden für neue Geschäftsmodelle

Guter Nährboden für neue Geschäftsmodelle

Nachdem die Bankenbranche mit dem Online-Bezahlverfahren paydirekt auf konkurrierende Angebote von Online-Bezahldiensten wie Paypal reagiert hat, kommt sie mit Instant Payment nun den Wünschen des Regulators nach. Die erwartete Etablierung von Instant Payment bereitet den Nährboden für neue Geschäftsmodelle, die oft von Fintechs entwickelt werden. Ein Argument für eine verstärkte Kooperation der Banken mit Fintechs. Ein Indiz für die Attraktivität des Markts ist auch der Umstand, dass in den letzten Monaten einige Payment-Dienstleister für hohe Summen den Besitzer wechselten.

Wie sich der Handel diesen neuen Markt erschließen kann, wird derzeit in Arbeitsgruppen, wie dem Handelsverband Deutschland (HDE), diskutiert. An den Beratungen beteiligt sich auch die HSH Nordbank. „Wir als Bank des Händlers werden unseren Kunden geeignete Lösungen rechtzeitig bereitstellen“, sagt Matalon. Bevor IP für Firmenkunden relevant wird, muss das System aber flächendeckend nutzbar sein. Hier kommen auf die Finanzdienstleister erhebliche Investitionen zu, unter anderem auch weil IP technisch 24 Stunden an 7 Tagen in der Woche verfügbar sein muss. Ein weiteres Problem ist, dass der NFC-Kanal bei Apple Geräten in Deutschland noch nicht freigegeben ist, um die Zahlungsdetails vom Händler an das Smartphone des Kunden zu übertragen. Obwohl neuere iPhones den nötigen NFC-Chip schon besitzen, ist die Apple-Community bei IP auf die Nutzung eines QR-Codes angewiesen. Hierfür müssen Lösungen am POS entwickelt werden.“, sagt Frommholz.